We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Convention Space, Parking Situation Lacking”

Indiana Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 173 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Convention Space, Parking Situation Lacking”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were here for a big show this month and they did a fine job of accommodating everyone. The staff, greeters, security and everyone else was friendly and gave good directions to the various venues within the convention center. We were there in the day time (morning through early evening) and the area seemed plenty safe to go out and walk around. It's right next door to Lucas Oil Stadium and several other big venues, so I imagine that it is patrolled pretty heavily.

The layout of the convention space took a couple of laps to get used to, it was like a big J shape and getting from one wing to the other was a little tricky. I'm not sure if it was the show organizers or the convention center that does the floorplan, but the aisles were very narrow and crowded, making it tough to get around and see all of the exhibitors.

The show floor was a little bit warm, but not uncomfortably so.

There were a number of places to grab a bite to eat within the center and plenty more very close by when you go outside.

There wasn't dedicated Convention Center parking, but there is a lot of garage space nearby, although the rates are somewhat high at $15 for enough time to visit the show or $20 for all day. On our way back to the car around lunch time, they had "Garage Full" signs out, so I'm not sure where visitors would have to park at that point.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LouieBiz-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    161
    36
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Indiana Convention Center Represents Midwest with Simplicity and Character”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I attended the FDIC Convention with my husband, hosted in the Indiana Convention Center in the heart of Indianapolis. Great location, excellent design, and really nice space for a very large convention attracting thousands of visitors.

We found the entrance of the ICC easy to access and spacious. If needing to stand aside to wait for coworkers or friends, we would have had plenty of space and not bothered other patrons in the least. Well-lit walkways and well-placed seating/electronics charging stations made this venue different from others. The availability of moderately-priced concessions (salads, sandwiches, beverages and fruits/desserts) made us feel a purchase would be a good idea, not just a need to cover with misgivings based on price and value.

The convention we attended attracted thousands of people of all ages, and the ICC appeared to meet the needs of all of them, from family-friendly restroom facilities and food choices at the concession outlets, to wheelchair rental availability. Staff traversed the walkways and appeared at various points throughout the facility to direct show goers and to answer questions.

Concessions offered several choices, even for low-carb customers such as ourselves. Staff went out of their way to make sure we received what we asked for, with cheerful smiles and thanks at every turn.

I look forward to another visit to the ICC, more than likely for the same convention next year. I know I won't feel disappointed in the least!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Probably the best convention center in the USA!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I visited this convention on two occasions; the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Centennial in 2013 and the 2013 National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) Conference. Both events were spectacular, simply because the convention center could house every event needed for both conferences. The single best thing about the venue, other than it's massive size is the fact that you can get it via crosswalk from several hotels. This is probably the best convention center in the united states. Have your event here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PrestonRobinsonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Volleyball weekend!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

First time at the center. Nicely organized event! Clean restrooms always a plus!! Parking was tough!! Everything near filled up. Had to park about 6 blocks away!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 912kathyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs some updating”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Not the worst convention center in the U.S., but definitely not the best or most modern. Looks like they are attempting some repair work, but wall paper is falling down and bathrooms need some updating as well (sewer smell, older stalls). Looks like it is convenient to hotels.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Braskaball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Convention Center also viewed

 

Been to Indiana Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing