We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being in Morocco”
Review of Saffron Cafe

Saffron Cafe
Ranked #268 of 2,379 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Indy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like being in Morocco”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The atmosphere really ads to the overall experience. It really is like visiting another country, if only for an hour. The food is an experience to itself. If you like to try other cuisines then rush right over and enjoy the different tastes.

The owner came over to our table to check on us. How cool is that? You don't see that every day. The whole restaurant has a very ethnic and real world feel that just ads to the whole taste of the meal.

We did not go on the day of the belly dancing but I'm sure we will be checking back for that as well. Very happy with the experience.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randys1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    46
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Best bastila in the US”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

The cuisine is fairly authentic Moroccan. The bastila is probably the best I have had in the US -- maybe the best anywhere. The tajines are just OK. You need to order couscous separately. The service is excellent and very friendly indeed. Ask for Shak or Chris. The owner comes around to be sure all is well. Definitely recommended.

Hard to find parking.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“First visit but not my last!”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

A friend and I were in Indy on a Monday and decided to try Saffron Cafe for lunch.
Parking was a little tricky as the lots around it are posted for apt. residents--and will tow. We were able to easily park on the street as we were early (11ish). I overheard customers say later that they had circled the block.
We'd never dined on Moroccan food before, but our waiter was helpful.
We started with soups: Harrira for my friend and Lentil for me. Both were absolutely yummy! -- a full bowl size too.
For entrees, I ordered the tilapia tajine, and my friend ordered the honey chicken tajine. Both were divine! The warm and crusty bread helped make sure none of the delicious broth went to waste.
For dessert we shared a piece of the marscapone cheese cake--a huge slice.
It was a wonderful lunch! I can't wait to return and bring my husband along!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal, staff and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stumbled upon Saffron Café after being intrigued by the exterior of the building. We were simply delighted with the food, atmosphere and staff. We had an order of the hummus with pita bread that was delicious and then I ordered the Couscous Tfaya and my husband ordered the Lamb Tajine. The Coucous Tfaya was wonderful and unexpected. It had a saffron honey broth combined with the couscous, raisins and chickpeas --- tasted similar to a wonderful bowl of pourridge that you can’t get enough of! My husband thoroughly enjoyed his Lamb Tajine.

We had spent the entire day at the Children’s museum with our 6 yr old and 3 yr old before going to Saffron Café for dinner. Although it is a more intimate setting, the staff welcomed our overtired children and seemed to enjoy families dining at their restaurant.

My only regret is that we live 2 hours away and won’t be able to go as often as I’d like!! If you like unique and really good food, you should try this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4fromChampaign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the better places we've tried...”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

One of the better places we've tried since moving to Indy. We'll definitely be back. Lamb honey in the tajine was so tender and sweet! Their steak special was also very tasty and flavorful but a bit pricey. Compared to all the other overpriced steak places in Indy it was a good value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soleilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing