We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of The best Restaurant in Indianapolis”
Review of OAKLEY'S Bistro

OAKLEY'S Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
OAKLEY'S Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 2,375 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $1 - $34
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Washington
Cross street: 86th & Ditch Road
Description: It’s commonly thought that you know you’ve found your life’s calling if you’d do your job for free. Chef Steven J. Oakley personifies that idea. His career began at age 16 when he offered his services to a suburban Chicago restaurant for free: “I just wanted to work, I wanted to learn,” says Oakley. That emphasis on hard work and continual learning has culminated in Chef Oakley arriving at the top of his profession in Indianapolis. That structured education didn’t temper his need to learn from other chefs in other kitchens and he spent many weekends traveling to New York City to work in some of the most prestigious restaurants in the country, including The Park Avenue Café and Lutece—for free of course. He spent summers back in Chicago where he worked at the famous Charlie Trotter’s. Following a brief stint at the Scottsdale Princess Resort in Arizona, Chef Oakley returned home to Chicago where he worked for another landmark restaurant, Printer’s Row, and again, Charlie Trotter’s.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One of The best Restaurant in Indianapolis”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Chef Steven Oakey is way ahead of the curve. Ths is oneif the VERYbest restaurants in Indianapolis. Great specials, great menu, fantastic reasonable priced wine list and exceptional, professional, friendly service from the moment you enter

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mannks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    32
    13
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Elegant dishes in a casual environment”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Took six busines associates out to dinner and since some were from out of town I wanted someplace with some high level food but different than the usual steakhouse. Oakley's delivered on all counts. High points were the butternut squash soup, special aged pork dish, and chicken au coq vin. The chicken dish was especially well flavored with a dramtic presentation. We were all full enough no deserts were needed but they sure looked good. Each person raved about the pork.

The wine list is short but there were many good choices. Everyone liked the speciality cocktails they ordered as well. Service was competent, at a measured pace, but it never felt slow.

The french onion soup was flavored well but different than the usual prepartion; more of a broth soup than the cheese, bread soup normally found. I'd get something else next time. Fortunatately there are a lot of small plates and appetizers to explore. Looks like I will be going back with the wife to do so.

If you are at all into food then you should check this place out. It far outshines most other places I have found in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank energydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Indy Has to Offer”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonderful, innovative and sophisticated food. The butternut squash soup is simply amazing! If you are fascinated by the dishes prepared on Top Chef, Oakley's will not disappoint.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csthacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris h, General Manager at OAKLEY'S Bistro, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. Steve does such a great job with food, he really puts his heart and soul into what he does and it's nice to hear back from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good local gem”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good service. Wonderful interesting menu items. I like the variety from small plates...we can pick and choose. There were also interesing large plate items. The butternut squash soup with ginger and jalepenos was awesome. The scallops were cooked perfectly. The homemade icecream - gelato sampler for desert was just right. Wonderful service. Our waitress was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent bistro food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had dinner on a week night with our daughter and son-in-law. Overall our experience was very good, with exceptions as noted below.

Among the appetizers, the hard-boiled eggs were a real winner. The vaunted shrimp corn dogs were disappointing---small, dried-out shrimp inside flavorless cornmeal that was far too much for the size of the shrimp.

Entrees and desserts were uniformly very good.

Our biggest issue was with the waiter, who was humorless and pedantic in his food descriptions. More significantly, we were using this dinner for a discussion of some family financial issues, and he constantly interrupted our conversation to do things that didn't need to be done. He seemed oblivious to the fact that each time he came to the table, we ceased our conversation until he departed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiefsimak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OAKLEY'S Bistro also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to OAKLEY'S Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing