We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument
Ranked #12 of 158 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A monument built in 1902 as a tribute to the Indiana soldiers who served in the Civil War.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

What an awe-inspiring monument. I loved the location and the sculptures were outstanding. A definite must see in downtown Indianapolis.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    104
    24
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orient, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome 360 view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's a great stop on a sunny day when you're staying downtown. Easy walk from most downtown hotels. The museum is interesting and well laid out. The view is spectacular of all Indy including the capitol, stadium and World War Memorial. It's also very good exercise though the steps get narrow. Free to climb to the top...or take the elevator for $2 per person. It is a very small elevator so claustrophobics beware. There is a small gift shop at the base but, alas, no lapel pins. And such an easy design to use! Take an hour and take in the view.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KJOpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A striking monument worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This monument is one of the more impressive structures I have visited. Right in the heart of downtown, with the surrounding buildings build with a curved facade to match the circle monument. Worth the trip to the top as well - I always return to this place every visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VJBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
403 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Free & Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

It's free to go to the top and get a great view of the cIty. If you choose to take the elevator it costs $2/person. The memorial is about as tall as the statue of liberty and the surrounding area is very nice.

It has a gift shop.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThreeWiseMen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Hour to Kill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We only had an hour to kill before going back to the airport so we stopped on Pennsylvania St. We ended up wishing we had more than an hour once we really started walking around this war monument. Next time we visit we will be arranging this as one important part of our agenda!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument also viewed

 

Been to Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing