We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument
Ranked #12 of 170 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A monument built in 1902 as a tribute to the Indiana soldiers who served in the Civil War.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Hour to Kill”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We only had an hour to kill before going back to the airport so we stopped on Pennsylvania St. We ended up wishing we had more than an hour once we really started walking around this war monument. Next time we visit we will be arranging this as one important part of our agenda!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    115
    29
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,026 reviews
602 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Most see”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is most see while in indianapolis it right in the middle of the square or rodonda surrounded by restaurants. Amazing monument dedication to the soldier.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Kids loved going to the top of the monument”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A lot of history to see and read. It is free and in the center of downtown, so a must-see if you are in the area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeandCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Histopry at its best!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is on eof my children's favorite museums to visit - you can do the circle city monument and the musem all together and then grab a treat at south bend chocolate! This one is a must see!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizaAllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Museum and Monument!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A wonderful piece of Indiana history thoughtfully preserved! Everyone should visit and take the elevator to the top!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument also viewed

 

Been to Colonel Eli Lilly Civil War Museum - Soldiers & Sailors Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing