We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ready To Go Home” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South
Ranked #143 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ready To Go Home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I checked in on Thursday July 3, 2014 to find a dirty and smelly room. Here is a list of what I found; there were 11 things wrong with my room.
Dirty glass table (enough dust that I could write my name in it)
Entry door to room had white crusty stuff running down it
The bathroom had hair on the sink and toilet
The face bar they gave me was been up into miniature pieces
The refrigerator had red liquid marks running down the front of it(white frig)
The freeze had so much ice build up, can't get anything in the freezer
The coffee area had coffee on the wall and the tray that held the package had white crusty stuff on it
The sofa and table was in the middle of the floor; housekeeping never put it back against the wall
The room didn't even look like it had been vacuumed
The fan in the wall was so loud I couldn't sleep

But the staff was very nice and helpful

Room Tip: Be very careful when selecting a one bedroom suite, rooms are out dated and not clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janis O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Jan O'mara/Regional Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    40
    54
    65
See reviews for
113
36
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have stayed in this chain quite a bit in the last few years of traveling. We have for the most part enjoyed this chain however,...... I have to say that this was BAD at best. They took the Jacuzzi out of the pool area (a must for us when traveling) The room was Dated, Dirty Carpeting (felt sticky to your feet - Washed then put shoes back on) Bathroom was AWFUL - Tub had some sort of paint on the bottom, vanity was so old - Not sure but looked dirty so I CLEANSED everything. The TV "guide" was No Where Near Correct so it was by just channel surfing that you found what you wanted,. Furniture in room was to the point of dilapidation chairs wiggled and squeaked when you sat and the HORRIBLE old sofa (not even sure why it was in the room) was just plain disgusting. Will hesitate and demand to see rooms in this chain (at least the CI&S) before I ever book here again.. VERY DISAPPOINTING

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaDavus57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janis O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for Jan O'mara/Regional Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

My family and I stayed one night here while in town for a dr appointment. The room was clean, although it was cold, our air unit was left on high cool for who knows how long. It only took a small amount of time to get it comfortable. The beds were comfortable as well and was surprised to see plenty of extra blankets in our closet if needed, nice toiletries in bathroom and the pool was nice and clean with a perfect temperature. Breakfast had a nice selection of hot and cold foods and the staff was really nice. The room was very quiet, we heard no outdoor/next door noises and slept great, will probably stay here next time we are in town.

Room Tip: Bottom floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobysmom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend Fri-Sun. We chose this hotel specifically because it had wifi, an indoor pool and free breakfast! We also got a great rate on Priceline, which made it even better. The room itself was clean and quiet, although initially it did have a musty odor.
The pool was in good shape and the temperature was good for this time of year.
Breakfast was a good variety. Fruit, yogurt, cereals, oatmeal, eggs, biscuits and pastries. The kids especially liked making their own waffles!
The only negative thing I would say was some of the staff interaction. Housekeeping did a halfway job on our room both days, our coffee pot didn't work in our room, and the attendant to the breakfast station wasn't the nicest person I'd ever come in contact with, but perhaps she was having a bad day.
Overall, I would stay again if I was looking for basic accommodations s and got the same rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydaze276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights 5/22-26/14 while going to events at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The staff was excellent and the facilities more than adequate. The location has restaurants nearby within walking distance...we really liked the Texas Roadhouse. it was a good location for going to IMS and is very quiet. The room was good...
If you are looking for a hotel on this side of the city with lots of suburban type amenities nearby this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

After a long day, I came to this hotel at 9 p.m. At night to check in. They had misplaced my business's authorisation form so I ended up having to pay for this on my personal credit card. I know they got the form, because I have a copy of the fax receipt.

The rooms are old, dated, and the furniture is pretty torn up. It is torn up to the point to look rather dirty. There were several items in the room that did not work properly.

The noise from the expressway on the side facing the hotel is very loud. Even with leaving the fan on the air conditioning system and in the bathroom on, the noise is distracting for sleep.

The entrance and pool are kept up nice enough. But its nothing to write home about.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LeadReviewerIAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are so sorry for the trouble you experienced when checking in! We will certainly make sure that management understand how much this affected your stay, and why these issues need to be handled before you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel upgraded me to a king-suite at my request when I used reward member points for the night. The lobby attendant was incredibly friendly and accommodating. I was disappointed that there is not a whirlpool any longer in the pool area. The breakfast area is TINY and did not allow for me to eat with my kids because there were only a few tables and chairs. It was also incredibly HOT in the breakfast area. The air-conditioning in our room somehow was shut off at 10 a.m.-ish, which I suppose is to either encourage people to check out at 11 a.m. or to save money in case people left their window units on after they had left. This must have been done at a breaker or elsewhere, because it had worked fine up til then. I didn't fuss because I was leaving anyway. There was only shampoo/conditioner for ONE person, despite my reservation stating I had FOUR people in the room, and I had to ask for more. There were no pillows for the pull-out bed. I was told the rooms all had NEW microwaves and refrigerators that were JUST installed last week, but they were OLD and grungy looking, NOT NEW. I was informed that the hotel was about to be renovated, and I agree that it needs it. I didn't find out until the next day on our way out that there was tons of shopping options just across the freeway and that would have been nice to know.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanknreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianapolis
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
#73 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South
BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South
#76 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Indianapolis South
Courtyard Indianapolis South
#79 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
#11 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South
Address: 4325 Southport Crossings Way, Indianapolis, IN 46237-4648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indianapolis Country Inn
Country Inn Indianapolis South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing