We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to another hotel in the area”
Review of Columbia Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbia Club
Ranked #113 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go to another hotel in the area”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is actually an old club converted into a hotel. The lobby is beautiful and the room for events on the 12th floor is lovely. The hotel rooms are awful. Only the top two floors have been renovated. These rooms are passable as long as they are clean. Check closely. I stayed on the 5th floor which was disgusting. My room had not been renovated in too many years to count. There was no where to put bathroom toiletries, no shelf at all in the bathroom. My shower handle was broken and we did not have hot water. Our carpet was dirty and buckled. We did not have an extra roll of toilet paper nor glasses to drink out of . Our TV was a 19 inch tube TV that barely worked. The entire hotel needs to be renovated except for the lobby. I would stay anywhere else. Run to another hotel. The service in the Restaurant was awful, don't eat there either.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roncat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    22
    21
    19
See reviews for
10
27
6
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We were there as part of a family event at the Columbia Club - and wish we had stayed in one of the other hotels that were options. Our room was a renovated one, but housekeeping missed cleaning the toilet - which was disgusting. Granted, the mess of it was not in your vision but it shows you that their cleaning is just superficial. Management was useless in resolving the situation.

Upper level rooms/floors 8 and 9 have been renovated and are worth the price if you must stay here. lower floor rooms are old and disgusting. Food is average, service in the restaurant is non-existent. Building is historic, lobby is beautiful. Location is great but so many other real hotels on Monument Circle (this is not a hotel - don't be misled by the fact that they rent rooms, there is no customer service and onsite managment has no authority to make decisions) - go to one of the other name hotels instead- you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbjm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

As we arrived to this hotel the 10 valets at the door looked at us as if we were some low class people and said that was a ´private´club and my reply was ´we are guest here´. The lobby smells and the rooms are very very dated. We had to call the front desk because our bathroom and curtains were dirty! Wouldn´t recommend it. There are a lot of new hotels around the downtown area that would definitely give a better service for your money. This people are trying to live up to their wonder years back in the 1800´s but wake up! it´s 2010!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The rooms in this hotel are dirty and not updated. The carpet in our "suite" made my socks black. The air was broken most of our stay and the staff was not organized enough to really fix things. What is tough is that this place pretends to be a five star hotel with their dress code and rules but it is really sub par. The fitness center is old, rusty, and a little creepy to be honest.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccoffeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Well I suppose I should have heeded the advice of other reviewers and paid that extra cash for a newly renovated room. We stayed here recently for a wedding - the reception hall was nice, the food pretty mediocre but what can you expect from a buffet? The biggest disappointment was the room - the entire place (room, lobby, etc.) has a pretty musty smell. The bathroom literally reminded me of a truck stop bathroom with cheap tile and home depot fixtures - they tried to class it up by placing a bunch of plates with fancy soap around but failed miserably. The shower had terrible pressure. The swimming pool, located in the basement looks like somewhere one might go to be murdered. And to top it off the parking was a ridiculous $25 a night! To sum it up, I would not stay here again - there are plenty of other similarly priced hotels in the area that don't smell like grandma's basement.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJP-90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The Columbia Club was a terrific experience my wife and I enjoyed thoroughly. Elegant old world tradition with fine accommodations. We came for the Indy 500 and the Club did a wonderful job from the moment we arrived till the time we left. Was surprised to see many different reactions online, but as the times change as to the Clubs and Hotels. Yes they will host non-members now (US) but if you want to survive they need the revenue. Although they have changed their membership they have not changed their philosophy of the service they provide...Top notch and truly a treat. Thanks Very Much

KDR3

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Extremely dirty room; white socks were black from the carpeting. Room smelled of cigarette smoke; bed was extremely uncomfortable. Bath tub had rust on the drain. Tap water was rust colored. Room service messed order up on two occassions. Vehicle was crashed by valet. Employees were polite and helpful. An overall disappointing stay. Location was fantastic. Next time, Mariott bound

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cb1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#15 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Embassy Suites by Hilton Indianapolis - Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Club

Property: Columbia Club
Address: 121 Monument Cir, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2994
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Columbia Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Club Hotel Indianapolis
Columbia Hotel Indianapolis
Columbia Club Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing