We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
34
38
26
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
38
26
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate clubmonument circlevalet and bell staffgrand lobbycomfortable lobbyvalet parkingdowntown indianapolisgreat downtown locationconferencemarriott
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 144 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018

This place has a few issues but not character and location. If you want rooms with granite floors, shiny surfaces and bathrooms from Vogue Living try elsewhere.
Fabulous entry hall with no crowds of fresh-off-the-fields peasants huddling around tour desks,15 foot mullioned and stained glass windows, a salubrious bar and a fireplace you could roast a side of beef in. Rooms are comfortable. Remember this is a club, not a chain hotel. Four days here over the Indy 500 made me fully appreciate its 'clubbiness' and the members are friendly and helpful -even to non-Republicans.
A refreshing change from the 'cookie-cutter' in a city where the footpaths are always empty because everyone is enjoying the bars and excellent restaurants.
.

Room Tip: Try for a front room overlooking the Monument.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

I booked this room through a third party site. I chose it because the price was ok, and it was located downtown. The website didn't offer much information on the hotel, and it was hard to see what you were getting. For starters, there is no close parking, and valet service is $40. We had to park 3 blocks away and walk to the hotel. The staff was nice and courteous. The room was fairly clean, I could tell the counter tops weren't wiped down all the way by the water rings left. They gave us a room with 2 full size beds (there were 4 of us) and they were very firm. We were given an ice bucket in the room but there was no ice machine available on the floor. There was also no vending machine for snacks or soda. The front desk offered cans of pop for $3 a piece.The room temperature was hard to control because there was only a small thermostat on the wall that had 2 options. I will not be staying again. If you are looking for a place for an event, things may be different but we were not there for that reason. The hotel inside is beautiful and would make for a great event location.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brittain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

Seriously needs to get with it. This is my second time at the hotel and that’s twice that I left with a bad taste. First visit had plumbing (hot/cold and drainage) issues. This time WiFi issues. Don’t get caught up with it being a “Historical” hotel, it’s just “Old” and needs alot of work.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank Bongocuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018

The best thing about the Columbia Club is the history of the building and the historical artifacts in the common areas. The location is also a plus.
Unfortunately, as other guests have reported, there was no hot water for showers, and staff did not seem concerned. The service was spotty. Some of the staff were friendly and helpful, but many were cold ... like the water in the rooms.
Also, we used the fitness facility. There was never any mention that there is a fee to use the gym; that is, until the bill came. The facilities -- while fairly nice -- were small. A 45-minute workout here is definitely not worth the extra fee charged.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff Ŧ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

If you are looking for a great downtown location to host an event for 100+ people, contact the Columbia Club. The location is centrally located- located on the Circle in the heart of the city. The historical building provides a beautiful venue for your guests. I have used the Columbia Club numerous times to host events. Give them a call. You will be glad you did.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
Thank Rex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews