We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Historic = old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Columbia Club
Ranked #109 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Seward, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historic = old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The location was great, however the hotel was just not my style. It is a historic hotel but it just seemed old. My room smelled like my grandma's basement. I had to stay here due to the hotel offering a reduced rate for a conference I was attending. I wondered if anyone else stayed at the hotel as I only saw other guests on my 3rd night there. The A/C unit in my room was insanely loud which make sleeping a bit hard. Also, there is a dress code so beware of that. All that said, the staff was extremely helpful. If I visit Indy again I will pick somewhere else to stay a bit more modern.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    20
    20
    18
See reviews for
10
26
6
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very disappointing stay. Old fashioned rooms with old wiring that has been painted over!!! Awful room that smelt of stale smoke. Very stiff place with old fashioned out of touch values!! No thanks.

Helpful?
Thank LondonAlan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

True to history, the main rooms were absolutely stunning and lovingly kept up. The sleeping rooms were tight, dated, and a little yucky. I was at a conference, so I barely spent any time in my room. It met my needs. The room service was quite reasonable, as was the restaurant. The service was impeccable, except for the wake up call that was 1/2 hour late. That day, it was ok though as we were just leaving. Views were also pretty of the circle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0cky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location. And then add a historic building with an original interior, and you get real character. But maybe it's just me, I don't like a hotel to tell me how to dress. Being an old hotel, the rooms are small and the a/c noisy. Then there's the price. Three blocks away, I can have a suite for $100 a night, including breakfast. This room cost me twice that, and that's poor value. My advice, make sure you're wearing a collared shirt, wander in purposefully, look around and admire, then go stay somewhere else.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank AnotherEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Paper thin walls, told to take off ball cap, told I couldn't bring a bottle of wine in, not told 20% tip was already added when I tipped at the bar (yes that's a 40% tip) and to top it off I had $190 of charges on the bill that we're not mine. While the management has acknowledged that fact, I have yet to be reimbursed from the stay 3 weeks ago.
Stay Away

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
363 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was in Indianapolis recently for a social event. Even though I didn't stay at Columbia Club I ended up spending time there because most my friends were guests.

The Club is absolutely beautiful, classic and historic. I spend several times at the bar which is the focus of this review. The bar is not huge but very nice and intimate. The liquor and wine offerings are great and the team is hesitantly attentive but not engaging to the degree I would've expected from a place that survives from memberships.

The front employees however are extremely engaging. Always acknowledge me even though I wasn't staying there and were prompt to open doors and ensure they offered help with transportation. Perhaps this team should spend time with the borderline grumpy bartenders.

Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romazzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I utilized this hotel as my son is a member. I was in town for the weekend during the NCAA basketball tournament. Indianapolis was hopping. The Columbia Club was calm.
Anyway....I loved The Columbia Club! I valet parked my car and checked into my 9th floor room. The lobby area is very stately and elegant. There is a dress code....not too hard to adhere to. The room was large. I was on a corner so had two Windows. It was well appointed, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE. We had drinks at the bar, and I had a light breakfast in the restaurant. Every employee I came in contact with was kind and courteous. I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: I had a lovely view of Monument Circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieq50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Sheraton Indianapolis City Centre Hotel
Home2 Suites Indianapolis Downto...
#45 of 183 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
Hilton Indianapolis
#11 of 183 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#16 of 183 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Club

Property: Columbia Club
Address: 121 Monument Circle, Indianapolis, IN 46204
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 183 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Columbia Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Club Hotel Indianapolis
Columbia Hotel Indianapolis
Columbia Club Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing