We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway Supreme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sybaris Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We had a complete blast. The pool was warm. The steam room was hot. The bed was... Well, just book yourself a night here with your loved one and you will fill in the blank. We will be doing this again. Outstanding Experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyheadChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 237 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2008

My husband outdid himself on this one. We live in Indy so this was just a getaway for a night and it was fantastic! We had the biggest best room with everything in it. For a charge they also put rose pedals on the bed, provided champaign, robes, a teddy bear and a rose that is dipped in something red and gold as a keepsake.

It was clean, quiet, we had stereo, TV, movies, waterfalls, massage chair, the works. The staff was helpful and kind and the room was well maintained. We are getting ready to do this again. There is lots to do in the neighborhood so talk with them before your stay and plan something fun!

Oh, the bed lights up underneath and around the mirrors. It is wayyyyyy cool!

Plus the send you great discounts of $75.00 off after your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sweet1evie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Wow. We jsut got back from our indlugent adventure at the Sybaris. We had to drive through a dirty, industrial part of town to get there, but when we arrived, we were in for a real treat. Each "room" is acually a freestanding unit. That means no shared walls and plenty of privacy. Here's the highs and lows based on our experience.

Size - We stayed in the Paradise Pool Suite. Big enough, but not too big. The pool was plenty large, as was the jacuzzi. However, there was not much "living" space. No couch by the fire and not really a good place to watch the TV. But TV is not why we went to the Sybaris, is it?

Cleanliness - In a room where romance is the sole purpose, we were naturally a little hesitant about what the cleanliness status might be. It was great. Only one compaint - there was a crusty piece of candy on the floor of the steam room. It washed away quickly, but it was not fun. It was the only sign of uncleanliness we saw.

Service - Excellent. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Cost - Its pricey, but well worth it. We can't afford this for every getaway, but it's great for special occasions. And it will be worth your money to extend your stay into the afternoon. It's hard to leave the Sybaris, so the small fee to stay later (or arrive earlier) is an easy choice.

Fun stuff
- The pool was great. Very warm and just the right size for two people. I'm still amazed that we had a POOL IN OUR ROOM!
- The jacuzzi was nice. I wish it were a contantly full hot tub, though. It takes so long to fill it up. But it was very large and there was plenty of room for both of us, unlike some other tubs we've been in.
- The steam room was probably our favorite. There is a steam maker thingy (very technical term) and then 4 shower heads on the ceiling. There's also a shower head on a hose. We took most of our showers in this room. There are two plastic beach chairs in there to sit on. That was nice, but we would have liked more comfortable seating.
- The bed was very fun. Many lighting options. Stars overhead. Mirrors. Plenty of pillows and a nice matress. Very nice overall. The only compaint would be with the sheets. The fitted sheet kept coming off the bed. They should use deep pocket sheets.

The TV & music - The room had a TV, DVD/VHS player, and stereo reciever. Music was on when we entered the room. The speakers are mounted over the bed and in the pool room. Very nice touch. Here's the complaints, though. The TV is relatively small. It's an HDTV with no HD signal. The remote was difficult to use from the bed. The receiver was difficult to control; we struggled to get the pool speakers working. When we did, the only way to hear them was to crank the system so loud that we had to turn the bed speakers off. We didn't bring our own CDs (and didn't have the right cord for the iPod), so we were limited to local radio stations for music. Commercial-free satellite radio would have been nice, since the commercials did interrupt "the mood" a time or two. So make sure to bring some music with you.

Time of stay - We stayed two nights (with an early check-in). We both commented that we liked the length of the stay. Too much longer and we would've become a little stir-crazy. Less time and we wouldn't have had enough.

Conclusion - We WILL go back. We enoyed our stay immensely. This is the perfect getaway for any couple looking to spend time enjoying each other. There are a few things that we think they could do better, but we hope they don't change too much. 5/5!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank steeeeevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Just got back from Sybaris and my husband and I had an amazing time. We stayed in the majestic suite. Originally we booked the paradise suite, however, when we got there the lighting in the pool room was faulty, so they were very apologetic and upgraded us to the majestic. It was amazing, we had a fantastic time. The pool was incredible (spent a lot of time in the pool).Loved that we could have the speakers just playing in the pool room! Steam room with shower was an absolute bonus, the hubby loved that, and overall was an amazing time. A couple of downsides, were that the jets on the whirlpool did not work (but wasn't a big deal for hubby and I) and that there was no remote for the dvd player or receiver. We did not complain, since we had an amazing time as it was, but we did let them know on the comment card, we received a free extended stay for the problems. Although there were a few hiccups and the decor is slightly cheesy, the place is incredible. Felt like we were in our own world and just had the time of our lives. Never had to worry about cleanliness at all (and i am paranoid about that), was above and beyond clean! Loved the robes awaiting us and the fun mirrors. We came prepared with drinks and snacks, and had dvds to watch, but there are snacks and drinks you can buy at the front desk if needed, and there are a selection of channels on the tv (including some adult ones if you want to indulge). If you want some romance and fun in your love life, I would absolutely recommend it. We are already planning our next visit :)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ladygwennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We just got back from an overnite getaway for myself and hubby at the Sybaris Indianapolis.
We received a gift certificate from a family member for a Sybaris Signature suite. We made our reservation and were looking forward to this little adult cottage visit, since also it was our 27th wedding anniversary. :)
I can't say enough positives about our stay. We brought some snacks and drinks in a cooler, since we were aware they had a mini frige and micro-wave in our reserved room.
Hotel staff was extremely friendly and welcoming to us both.
Upon arrival, when we opened the door to our individual cottage, we were impressed. The ambiance of the room and the 2 plush his and her robes on the bed welcomed us to our overnite paradise.
There are so many wall switches for lights and extras we just were so impressed. All individual areas of cottage were large and so easy to move around and even a massage leather chair.
The separate glass walled pool and steamroom area were so impressive and inviting to us both. The temperture in our own personal pool was perfect, the pool went from 3 feet to 5 feet, with easy walk in steps, plus a waterfall above the middle of pool area, that you controlled on or off with a wall switch. That was our favorite, to have the heated pool for ourselves in our cottage. The cleanliness was excellent in all areas. My husband and I both enjoyed our visit here. I know prices are high, but, everyone once in their lives, should experience this unique getaway. If you leave this cottage unhappy, then you arent in love with your honey. This is a must do, it should be on all couples in love to do list!!!!!!! Check in time was 6:00pm, and check out time was 11:00am. A perfect overnite for couples, lovely & special :)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SweetCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

This was absolutely by far, our best getaway. We had heard from a friend about this romantic hotel catering to couples, and had to try it for our second anniversary trip. It was absolutely worth the rate of the room, and we absolutely enjoyed ourselves. The staff and personnel, upon check in, was so delightful, making it one of our best check in experiences. Then when we called the front desk later for a question of where to dine, they were very helpful, and efficient. The room was absolutely amazing, we had the suite with the private 16ft swimming pool, and cascading waterfall with whirlpool tub, and steam room. Although located on a very busy street, once the door's closed, we were in our own world, and the rest of the sound retreated into the background. It was very romantic, and if your looking for a spectacular wedding night, anniversary trip, or even trying to rekindle the magic of your relationship, I highly recommend locating a Sybaris, and staying there. There are I think 5 other locations, other than the Indy one, but having stayed there and enjoying our experience, we absolutely recommend this to everyone. Upon checkout, the staff was friendly, and offered discounts certificates on our next stay, and referral cards to give to friends. If your going to rekindle your relationship, and the romance you once had with each other and the stay in this hotel doesn't do it, then I suggest getting out of the relationship. If your marriage has become second place to your busy life, and you feel you may be falling out of love with that person go here to find out. My husband and I are seperated through Military requirements on his job, and had become busy with daily life and activites. Although we were happy with each other, and still in love, we felt we needed to reconnect on that level again. The mood, setting, music, and everything else was perfect. It was all the spark my husband and I needed to feel like we did when we were dating. This place lets you focus on the two of you while taking care of the romance, and setting.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jmsalamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

What's in a name? Everything, if it is "The Sybaris". I couldn't believe the attention that was given to make this stay a repeater. The staff took very good care of us. Brian, one of the managers, went above and beyond the call of duty. This stay is well over a five star rating. This is what I do for a living "Ever After event and vacation planning". I joined the club to get the discount for futur stays. If you need time alone with your spouse or just a weekend getaway this is the place to go. You won't be let down. It is in a very good location. Everything near by. After Katrina, we needed to get away. We were in Indy Labor Day Weekend 2006 for the big show ( The Nationals ) and we also celebrates our 25th wedding annivesary. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Private, secure, and the C L E A N L I N E S S was over the top. I like the use of a garage for entry into the Chalet. We will be back. They really need to expand. One suggestion. You need more closet space.
nolavj@yahoo

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank nolavj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#76 of 188 in Indianapolis
128 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#4 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,598 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 188 in Indianapolis
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 188 in Indianapolis
1,533 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#9 of 188 in Indianapolis
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sybaris Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Indianapolis

Address: 5466 W 86th St, Indianapolis, IN 46268-1502
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Indianapolis
Price Range: $372 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Indianapolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Indianapolis, Indiana is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sybaris Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Sybaris Hotel
Club Travel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing