We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice house, nicer gardens”

Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens
Ranked #34 of 170 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice house, nicer gardens”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I enjoyed learning about the history of the house and looking at the old architecture and decorations of the house but I enjoyed the gardens and landscaping even more. Great landscaping and fun greenhouses where you can buy a wide array of plants.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas time at Lilly House”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It was a nice outing during Christmas break to visit the IMA and Oldfields-Lilly House. It was decorated for Christmas. It was just a little too busy so I felt rushed, but overall a nice experience.

Helpful?
Thank TB26_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Lilly Estate”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice house and grounds but not on par with other estate in America. Expectations are that you would see a far more opulent house and furniture with graciously designed grounds and gardens. Not so.

Helpful?
Thank jmunchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful piece of history worth exploring”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The property is beautiful, both the home and the gardens around it. It offers several options including a group tour at designated times or the ability to just explore the house on your own. That's what we opted for. It was filled with beautiful, authentic pieces and decorated for the holidays. Each room had pictures of the evolution of the space throughout the years and there were a lot of interesting historical details about the people who lived there and what life was like in the Indianapolis area during those days. Plus, it was free admission which made it even better!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“FREE! Lovely gardens.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was so easy to get to from downtown. And and interesting little drive there. This is on the same grounds as the Art Museum which can be a bit confusing at first. We stopped by the greenhouse first. They had many interesting plants fort purchase and a little gift shop with unique items. We then moved on to the house and were pleasantly surprised to find it was free. They talked about a special holiday shop in the house but it was not much to speak of. A few ornaments and such but nothing special or distinctive. You can do a self guided tour or use a docent. Our time constraints dictacted we do the self guided tour. I love olf houses and this was a good one. Furnishing were a bit tired but I could mostly look past that and imagine the home in it's heyday. They often had photos of what it looked lie "when". The docent in the front hall was a mean crusty old woman. Why she was there I'll never know.

They already had holiday decorations up and there were unfortunate. I realize this was a free tour but they were sad pieces that were just pieced together. A bit tacky.

I did love seeing this old house and am so glad we made the drive out.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4franks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Oldfields-Lilly House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing