We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maxine's Chicken & Waffles

Maxine's Chicken & Waffles
Ranked #176 of 2,339 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Go here!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We found this on tripadvisor and it sounded different. So glad we did!!! The first time we drove by we thought it was part of a gas station but is actually connected to the building and is a separate restaurant. The whole family works there. Highly recommend the sweet potato waffles! They were sweet, soft and out of this world! They also have a peach butter they make and sell. Amazing! The chicken is moist and juicy. Everything was delicious and the staff was so friendly and welcoming. Felt like I had been there many times. When I am back in the area this is a must stop place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eyenurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    40
    17
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must try sweet potato waffle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Fast and friendly service on a Sunday morning. Ordered the sweet potato waffle. Son ordered blueberry waffle with chicken wings. Wings were large. Waffles come with peach butter were awesome. Coffee was perfectly strong but not at all bitter. Worth a trip back next time I'm in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marykaypetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

In 3 days, we ate fried chicken in 3 different locations in Indianapolis (also went to Hollyhock HIll and Kountry Kitchen). Maxine's chicken was my favorite. The wings were large and perfectly seasoned. The sweet potato waffle was delicious. The fried green tomatoes were yummy as well. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincipalES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to try at least once while in Downtown Indy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had the chance to have brunch here on a Sunday morning. It can get kind of busy; however, I was able to arrive prior to the church crowd around noon. I ordered the chicken tenders and sweet potatoes waffles with peach butter. It was good and really filling. Our service was swift and no compliants.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So glad our smart phones found this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were walking around the circle and decided that we wanted to try a place near by that was locally owned and well rated. We were certainly glad that our handy smart phone found Maxine's!

We waited about 10 minutes to be seated, and it was well worth the wait. Our server was very friendly and attentive. She brought us fried corn bread with peach butter.. amazing! I ordered the blackened catfish sandwich with a side order of a sweet potato waffle and the house potatoes (fried potatoes with onions). Everything was excellent. The fish was cooked perfectly and seasoned very well, not too salty. The waffle was delicious with the peach butter and maple syrup on it and the potatoes were also very good. My husband ordered the chicken and waffles (which he let me taste). The fried chicken was crispy and fresh, not very greasy and the meat was cooked perfectly. We ordered the peach cobbler to go because we couldn't eat any more.

Maxine's is truly a great find in Indianapolis, conveniently located near the busyness of downtown, but far enough away to enjoy the free parking lot.

You have to try this place if you are near Indy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystal Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxine's Chicken & Waffles also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Maxine's Chicken & Waffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing