We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Highly recommended! Great staff, comfortable, convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indy Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Indy Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Highly recommended! Great staff, comfortable, convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

So happy we found Indy Hostel. We were in town for a friend's wedding over the New Year's weekend and this spot couldn't have been more convenient. A short bus ride from the heart of Broad Ripple; same for downtown. Price more than fair. The hostel itself is warm, bright and very comfortable; it's clear the staff pays attention to the details and importantly makes everyone feel at home. We enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back if we find ourselves in Indy again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimee_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    47
    13
    1
    6
See reviews for
15
21
62
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

It is a good place to stay over. Nice people, nice community. Although it is a little bit far from downtown, you can find bus services in that area.
I have been there twice, for social event and job interview. The rooms are very clean, and it is quiet. Kevin and John, the staff there, are very nice people, and they will help you as long as they could. In addition, the price is reasonable.
All in all, I love this place, and I would recommend you staying there if you are in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was in town for a social work confrence and need resonable accomiadtions. The Indy Hostel was perfectly priced and extremely convenient to the location of my confrence. I booked the private room with a bathrrom and was very happy. I would stay there again if every in Indy for Business.
Great place to stay and great people to meet.

Room Tip: If your alone and like a more private feel go for the private room, but if you are with friend or do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anfreels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CINCINNATI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Two friends and I stayed at the Indy Hostel for just one night while we were in town for a concert, but we all agreed we need to come back! I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in town. Indy Hostel has such a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. They've also got a kitchen and laundry facilities, which make it an even more convenient and comfortable place to stay. I look forward to returning with friends in the summer so we can ride the Monon trail and enjoy all the other things Indy and Broad Ripple have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I loved it here. Everything was extremely easy, and the staff was exceptionally friendly and nice. It felt like home. I will definitely stay here again if I ever have reason to be in Indianapolis. Don't get a hotel if this hostel is available!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you don't mind sharing a room, sharing a bathroom, sharing a frig, and taking the bus for 25 mins into town, or a $15 taxi back and forth, this is the place for you. For $30/night it sure beats the $190 hotels in town. Pluses: you get to see more of the city, ride the bus with locals, meet Kevin (the host who drove me the first night to a section of restaurants 8 blocks away), another conferee from Taiwan was staying there to keep his costs down too, and we had great conversations. Clean, comfortable enough, quiet, 2 bathrooms meant no waiting, nice little book selection. Enjoy! Sam Nickels, Harrisonburg VA.

Room Tip: Check the bus route schedules, because the bus only passes every 30 minutes. Takes 10 minutes to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Super nice, helpful, welcoming host, easy parking. Nice kitchen to use. Ensuite bath small but clean & just fine. Room was very clean & comfortable. A great deal. Not the Ritz, but warm & comfy. Neighborhood a bit funky but had fun shops & cafes (think you may need a car to get to).
Fresh Fields grocery is nearby & restaurant kitty corner is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Indianapolis Marriott East
#1 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#9 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Hostel

Property: Indy Hostel
Address: 4903 Winthrop Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46205-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Indy Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like to really feel a town, meet the people, and experience the food and lifestyle of the locals, then Indy Hostel is the place to stay! We have the friendly atmosphere of a hostel with the style of a bed and breakfast inn. We are near downtown but nestled in a quiet Broad Ripple neighborhood near local restaurants, shops, and entertainment venues. Indy Hostel is in the 'Heart' of Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Indy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing