We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too easy and comfortable really to get categorized as a hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indy Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Indy Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Too easy and comfortable really to get categorized as a hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I loved it here. Everything was extremely easy, and the staff was exceptionally friendly and nice. It felt like home. I will definitely stay here again if I ever have reason to be in Indianapolis. Don't get a hotel if this hostel is available!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    47
    13
    1
    6
See reviews for
15
21
62
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you don't mind sharing a room, sharing a bathroom, sharing a frig, and taking the bus for 25 mins into town, or a $15 taxi back and forth, this is the place for you. For $30/night it sure beats the $190 hotels in town. Pluses: you get to see more of the city, ride the bus with locals, meet Kevin (the host who drove me the first night to a section of restaurants 8 blocks away), another conferee from Taiwan was staying there to keep his costs down too, and we had great conversations. Clean, comfortable enough, quiet, 2 bathrooms meant no waiting, nice little book selection. Enjoy! Sam Nickels, Harrisonburg VA.

Room Tip: Check the bus route schedules, because the bus only passes every 30 minutes. Takes 10 minutes to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Super nice, helpful, welcoming host, easy parking. Nice kitchen to use. Ensuite bath small but clean & just fine. Room was very clean & comfortable. A great deal. Not the Ritz, but warm & comfy. Neighborhood a bit funky but had fun shops & cafes (think you may need a car to get to).
Fresh Fields grocery is nearby & restaurant kitty corner is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I needed a place to stay for the night. I booked last minute and my friend was booked as a walk in! We got there at 1am and the hostess was so sweet and welcoming despite of the time. The bedrooms were nice and clean as were the bathrooms. It was so wonderful, I'm definitely going to come back and stay longer! Not scary our awkward at all. It is a good one to start out in if your new to the hostel experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaileyHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Indy hostel is a nice, comfy and warm place, it has really people managing it, like kevin and Hailey. Also, it is the closest place to stay to Butler University, so, if you are visiting someone there, Indy Hostel I the right place to go.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time or you might not be able to get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hostel is really everything you want in a hostel. The feeling in the main house (where I stayed) was super warm and inviting. It didn't feel like a hostel; it felt more like a home. I had a queen bunk bed, which was larger than I had anticipated (nice!). The staff was genuinely interested in me, why I was in Indy, where I might want to go, etc. Exceedingly friendly and knowledgeable. Staff was also relaxed and laid back. They've got a very welcoming vibe from the second you walk in the hostel. There are free computer services. The kitchen is nice and well equipped. I really just can't say enough pleasant things about my experience there. I will definitely come back to this place when I visit Indy again. Lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingGnome8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at the Indy Hostel while I was visiting my son at Butler. It is a 10 minute drive from Butler's campus. The customer service was great. The facilities were clean. The managers were very accomadating and personable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Hostel

Property: Indy Hostel
Address: 4903 Winthrop Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46205-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Indy Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like to really feel a town, meet the people, and experience the food and lifestyle of the locals, then Indy Hostel is the place to stay!!!! We have the friendly atmosphere of a hostel with the style of a bed and breakfast inn. We are near downtown but nestled in a quiet Broad Ripple neighborhood near local restaurants, shops, and entertainment venues. Indy Hostel is in the 'Heart' of Indianapolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Indy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing