We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhampered at the Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Ranked #19 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unhampered at the Hampton”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Indianapolis is like a lot of major United States cities in that it is undergoing a change in the downtown core--in this case the Wholesale District--to re-purpose old factories and warehouses into upscale eateries and shops and apartments. And if you enjoy this kind of gentrification, well then the Hampton Inn is a good choice for you. It is situated smack-dab in the middle of downtown Indianapolis, across the street from the Circle Center Mall and two blocks away from the circle center that has a monument to honor soldiers and sailors. The hotel is also three blocks away from the convention center, a few blocks away from Lucas Oil stadium, a few blocks away from just about everything...all within an easy walk.

I was there for a conference being held at another hotel, so I spent little time in my room. It was a corner room on the top floor and the layout was kind of strange. There was only one window without much of a view, but the room was, uh, roomy. The bed was set at a diagonal and the room sort of resembled one of those S-shaped blocks on Tetris... the diabolical left-handed S, not the easy-to-place right-hand S. But the bed was soft and inviting and the carpet seemed rather new.

There were a few negatives about the room: a foam tube of weatherstripping was shoved into a sizable gap in the window, and it whistled every time the wind blew. I used a pencil to reposition the foam and the whistling stopped. Also, the rollers on the desk chair did not roll on the carpet very well, causing the carpet to lift up in waves...maybe the carpet was not stretched tightly when it was installed.

Oh and the pillows... this is the second hotel I stayed at where the bed contained five or six 12"x12" pillows instead of three or four regular-sized pillows. I don't know whose bright idea that was across the industry, but that person needs his or her head examined. Assuredly, the examiner will find that the person has a rather small, pointy head because that is the only type of head that would ever find these pillows comfortable. Look, if I wanted to use throw pillows for sleeping, I would have crashed on my Aunt Edna's couch in Terre Haute.

The rest of the hotel was decent: decent lobby, decent furniture, decent employees. Decent breakfast on the second floor with a decent variety of food: waffle bar, cereals, eggs, potatoes, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, toast and muffins, milk, coffee, and juice all decently arranged and resupplied.

The Internet connection was just okay: wireless only, and it kept disconnecting me the first couple of nights. Perhaps it didn't like the fact that I had some hefty downloads, or maybe it was all the teenagers in town for some Volleyball tournament that were most likely spamming their every last thought on every last social media site known to humanity.

Overall, I would stay there again if I could get a good deal on the room rate. And if I had a reason to return to Indianapolis. If you have a reason to be in the city, give this place a chance. Tell them I sent you... although you won't get anything for it but a puzzled stare from the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PowerhouseD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! Hearing about our guests experiences and getting your feedback is how we learn and grow. I will pass along all of your feedback to each of our departments to review. We hope to see you on your next trip to Indy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    309
    108
    44
    28
See reviews for
208
195
54
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is a great bet in downtown Indy. Great rooms, great staff, and a free breakfast to boot. You can walk to shopping, sporting events, downtown cultural venues and a multitude of restaurants. Big value for a reasonable price...what's not to like?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you, Linda, for this great review! I'm so happy to hear you had a great experience and enjoyed our convenient location, free breakfast, and amazing staff (we like them a lot too). Next time you venture to downtown Indy, we hope to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Friendly staff and very helpful. Location of the hotel was a plus. Everything I needed was right there. The valet staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone due to its location, price, and great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Arnel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you, Arnel! It was great hearing from you! We always appreciate hearing from our guests, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience at Hampton Downtown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMINGTON, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Problem with finding my window left open after being parked by Motel employee, for over 5 and a half hours. The Motel help,room were out standing it self, I have brought my wife andgrandson here before and been treated very well, I enjoyed # 703 the veiw of the city is great. You will truely LOVE the breakfast bar it is out of this world and the help up there is super great . I cannot say anything bad about our stay in general, I know that things do go wrong at time and that this person that did park the vehicle needed to do a walk around of my vehicle before leaving, because my vehicle could have been broken into very, very easy, with the window left open BY HIM !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Frank, thank you for your feedback. Thank you for spending your grandson's 5th birthday at our Hampton and thank you for the kind words! I'm so sorry that you had a bad experience with our valet. I assure you we are taking care of the issue and we will be in touch soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Calhoun NE
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for Big 10 basketball at Bankers Life Fieldhouse. It is an old rehabbed building but has been remodeled nicely. Check in was flawless and the staff at the front desk is top notch. All staff members greet guests with a smile. The breakfast area is nice and the breakfast is OK. A couple of days the meat was cold but otherwise the breakfast was good.

Room was average size but bath was large. Room was clean and housekeeping was good every day.

Would stay here again. Skylah, Jeannie and Jessica at the front desk were great and took care of all of our questions concerning night life and places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Hello RBuck! Thank you so much for such kind words. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Indy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attica, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The location of this hotel for the Big Ten is perfect!!! Also, a great place to stay for any event in downtown Indy. The service is wonderful! Rooms spacious and very clean. Breakfast is included. Lots of selections at breakfast! Thanks to Clara and Carol! Very friendly and very helpful each morning at breakfast!!! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you, Karen, for taking the time to write this review! I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfast selection and we love Clara and Carol too! They are wonderful to our guests! We hope to see you again next time you are in Indy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have been staying at the Hampton Inn on Meridian for the Men's Big Ten Basketball Tourn ever since the Tourn has been in Indy. First class operation and hat's off to the front desk. Special thanks Angela and to Kristie the Manager there. They are the best !!!!!!!!!!!!

Marty R

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riggo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for this great review, Marty! We love having you here and look forward to your next trip in! I will pass along your kind words to Angela and Kristie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,316 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,430 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,418 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre

Property: Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Address: 105 S Meridian St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Hotel Downtown Indianapolis is located in the heart of Indianapolis. This beautiful hotel housed in the historic Chesapeake building is across the street from the Circle Center Mall. The central downtown location is just a short walk from the Indianapolis Convention Center, the Lucas Oil Stadium, Bankers Life Fieldhouse and a variety of restaurants. The hotel features 180 well-appointed guestrooms that offer the perfect place to relax when you're traveling for business or for pleasure.• Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet Daily• Complimentary High-Speed Internet• Valet Parking Available• Modern Guest Rooms w/ 43” LCD HDTVs• Room Service Available - Hard Rock Cafe• 24/7 Suite Shop• Business Center w/ PC, Printer & Fax• Fitness Center• 5 Meeting Spaces Available• Hilton HHonors• 100% Hampton Guarantee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing