We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like going back in time. Not in a good way” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Like going back in time. Not in a good way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located close to shops, the mall, restaurants, etc. Downtown Indy is a vibrant and safe place for families, business travelers, etc. The staff at the hotel desk were very friendly, prompt, and knowledgeable. The lobby is clean and nice, but dated and no check-in/out kiosk or airline check in/boarding pass kiosk. What strikes me first is that although it's in an historic building (theres even mail chutes), the feeble attempts at updating with newer chairs and tables and decor in the lobby were done with low quality, cheap materials.

The room was clean, the tv worked, plenty of towels, linens were clean. A/C worked well and wasn't loud. However, the pillows were tiny and small, clearly dated. The carpet was old and dingy in the room and in the hallway. The hotel hallway smelled musty and old, a bit like stale beer. The shower worked well, good pressure. Vanity was quite small so it was a little hard to get ready. The closet space was odd -- small and short cabinet made it difficult to see my hanging clothes.

The most disappointing was the obvious cost-cutting measures taken in the breakfast area. Decent selection of oatmeal, cereals, juice, bread. But everything was either plastic or paper! a small paper cup for oatmeal, flimsy spoons and knives which made it hard to butter toast, the waffle irons is great but then you have to transfer it to a plastic plate, constantly cutting through the plate. It made it feel cheap and not at all what you would expect for a $140 a night hotel in downtown. Overall, the experience was like a typical cheap hotel in the airport district where they really don't care.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a detailed review of our hotel. I am happy to hear you found our location convenient and our staff friendly. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to follow up with the appropriate departments to resolve the issues you mentioned. The service ware we use with our breakfast is Hampton brand standard and is actually made from potatoes to be very environmentally friendly. I will pass your comments regarding this along to our Hampton brand team as well. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Indy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    289
    104
    41
    26
See reviews for
190
185
49
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked a romance package for my wife and I. Everything was absolutely wonderful. The staff and manager went above and beyond my expatations. I thought it was a great deal for price I paid. I will highly recommend this hotel to all my family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Robert S I am so glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your warm review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked a two night stay to take care of family business in Indianapolis. We chose this particular property because we are Hilton Honors members, and the price was right. The staff was friendly and professional. The room was clean and of a good size. So many things to do and see within walking distance. The breakfast was your typical Hampton Inn breakfast - nothing special, but certainly something to start your day with. Complimentary wi-fi worked well. They only offered valet parking, no self park, but parking was $17.00 a day, which was less than most of the other downtown hotels. Will definitely stay here again when we have to travel back to Indianapolis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DVCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I hope you had a great time in Indianapolis. We appreciate your Hilton loyalty and are so glad go hear you found our staff to be friendly and professional. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to Indy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've been a regular attendee of Gen Con Indy for seen years, and my general experiences with hotels during the convention have been middling. However, my stay at the Hampton Inn this year was fantastic and by far the best experience I've had since I began attending regularly. The staff was under constant stress, and the I wouldn't wish the demands of a packed hotel full of gamers on anyone, but the staff handled things perfectly, were always cheerful, helpful, and respectful, and were quick to answer questions and offer assistance when needed. The staff also went the extra mile, offering my group use of one of their conference rooms for a last minute teleconference, and offering us storage space for our luggage when a flight delays left us in the city for three hours longer than anticipated. Their recommendations for restaurants in the area were also impeccable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Daniel T I am so excited to read your review! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We love Gen Con and truly appreciate guests like you who come year after year. I am pleased to hear our staff was able to go above and beyond your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent staff - friendly and accommodating. The location was fantastic! Walked to the Bankers Life Fieldhouse (about 1 1/2 blocks). Tons of places to eat and close to shopping. Room was comfortable and very clean. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokie0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and hope you had a great town exploring Downtown Indianapolis. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff are very friendly, especially the morning staff that takes care of everyone at breakfast. No matter how busy the mornings were, they helped everyone with a smile! We have stayed here a few times, and we will return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank january1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I'm so happy to hear you enjoy our friendly breakfast staff. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've stayed at dozens of Hampton Inns and this one is just mediocre. The highlight is its fabulous location which is close to all of the downtown establishments. The staff wasn't overly friendly. The rooms were okay. It was suprisingly quiet and the bed wasn't uncomfortable. The bathroom could use a makeover as the tub/shower combo was leaky and the lever to change the water from tub to shower was hard to get to work. Bottom line: there are better places to stay in Indianapolis, but there are also worse. And if you need a place downtown, the price is fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoagy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre

Property: Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Address: 105 S Meridian St, Indianapolis, IN 46225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#14 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#17 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Hotel Downtown Indianapolis is located in the heart of Indianapolis. This beautiful hotel housed in the historic Chesapeake building is across the street from the Circle Center Mall. The central downtown location is just a short walk from the Indianapolis Convention Center, the Lucas Oil Stadium, Bankers Life Fieldhouse and a variety of restaurants. The hotel features 180 well-appointed guestrooms that offer the perfect place to relax when you're traveling for business or for pleasure.• Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet Daily• Complimentary High-Speed Internet• Valet Parking Available• Modern Guest Rooms w/ 32” LCD HDTVs• Room Service Available - Hard Rock Cafe• 24/7 Suite Shop• Business Center w/ PC, Printer & Fax• Fitness Center• 5 Meeting Spaces Available• Hilton HHonors• 100% Hampton Guarantee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing