We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat Sweats”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 2,358 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Pennsylvania St.
Description: We are an authentic Churrascaria (Brazilian Steakhouse) from Rio Grande do Sul in southern Brazil which features superior service, unrivaled cuisine and a unique dining experience.You will be pampered by our authentic Gaucho chefs who come to your tableside to carve a variety of succulent meats right off their skewers. Our featured meats have been slow-roasted over an open flame and lightly seasoned to preserve the unique taste of each tender cut.Adding to our unique dining experience, you will be treated to a sumptuous, gourmet salad and vegetable bar featuring over 30 items including imported cheeses, cured meats, fresh vegetables and more. We complement your meal with traditional Brazilian side dishes such as caramelized bananas, crispy polenta, seasoned mashed potatoes and our world-famous cheese bread (pao de queijo).No meal is complete without trying a refreshing caipirinha, something from our award-winning wine list or one of our decadent desserts
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Meat Sweats”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is definitely something everyone should experience at some point, but probably not too often! There is so much delicious food available to choose from that is it almost overwhelming. The food is amazing, and if you're down to gorge yourself on beef, go for it. We went as a family for a birthday and it was definitely worth the experience, we were still talking about it days later.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlauraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    190
    63
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Getting the Meat Sweats!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

So many different strategies for tackling this meat eating marathon. Do you skip the salad bar altogether and go straight for the goods like the ribeye or filet or lamb chops? Do you also say no to the sides like the fried bananas?

Whatever way you choose, be warned, "if you like meat, you will most likely need to be wheeled out!"

My suggestion is to not neglect any of it and "try" alittle of everything. Also, go at lunch whenevr you get the chance because its the same thing for alot less!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffC3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
426 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It started as a funny evening, with the waiter telling jokes. But when the first meat arrived at the table, it became really serious! Wow, the best meat I ever had. I still dont understand, how they know every singel piece on that stick. I asked for raw - and it was delicious raw. I asked for medium - and he cut of another slice, which was perfect medium. The meat was always at the perfect temperature on the plate - even it was a cold day and they walk through the restaurant with this sticks. Very delicious, very juicy - perfect!
I would love to go again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
478 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“If you love meat!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very unique restaurant, located in the center of the city, hard to find parking. very nice setting. huge salad bar. I have heard that someone just come in for salad bar, not touching meat at all.($20 for that?) A unique system: you turn the card on the table, they come to serve you food, in fact, cut the piece of meat in front of you. not cheap though: close to $30 at lunch and $50 at dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuang004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Meat lovers heaven”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

You expect high quality, large quantity well prepared meat at Fogo. The salad bar offerings alone are nearly worth the price of a meal. Many choices, all fresh and nicely presented and prepared from a simple Caesar salad to the prosciutto and more.
The main focus, grilled meats for the most part didn't disappoint. The negatives we encountered were overcooked lamb chops and a rather dry and tasteless filet. The sirloin cuts were outstanding and "to order" was the rule of the day. The chicken wrapped in bacon was perfectly prepared but is a letdown after the delicious beef entrees. The sides of garlicky potatoes and bananas flambe were fine although the fried polenta was dry and crunchy.
As for dessert, we tried the key lime pie and the creme brulee-both excellent and certainly enough for two, especially after eating as much meat as we wanted.
The service was outstanding with personable gauchos and waitpersons-never hovering but at hand when needed.
Expensive but well worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Col_Mustard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing