We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointed this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 2,282 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Pennsylvania St.
Griffith
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

been to fogo several times in Chicago - decided to go here as we love the chicago location. Disappointing. The gauchos were slow to come with the meats. The salad bar was not stocked well - a lot of dishes low or out. It helped they gave us a gift card with the check for a free lunch or dinner to use before March 31st and we can use it at the chicago location. The indianapolis location was way too disorganized.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    163
    56
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food with excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We go here one to two times a year to celebrate. The last time we went was for my fiance and her sister's birthday. The salad bar was better than your average salad bar. We try to eat light from the salad bar because the meat and side dishes are never ending! This is basically a buffett where you don't have to get up out of your seat! There is a card for each seat, one side is red and the other side is green. Just flip your card over and you are almost immediately bombarded by waiters with different cuts of meat slicing it how you want it! There are like 15 different types of meat that come around on skewers. You can choose from premium cuts of beef, chicken wrapped in bacon, parmesan breaded pork tenderloin, sausage, lamb, and many more! Everything is extremely delicious!

Each table is assigned its own waiter/waitress. Our waiter provided wonderful service for us. Each waiter carrying meat treats you as his/her own table too! It is an absolute team effort that the staff seems to pride themselves on! Our waiter asked if we were celebrating anything, so we told him that it was for birthdays. We also said it was for my birthday which was two weeks prior. Ten minutes later he comes out with three different desserts on plates that have "happy birthday" written out in syrup! It was very thoughtful of our waiter as he didn't even charge us for the desserts! If you get a dessert, I recommend the signature papaya cream.

We will definitely continue dining at this place for many years to come! Some of the best food and service we have ever had!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mszucs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been several times over the last couple years and have had a fantastic experience each time. The service is always great. The food variety and taste is superb. I prefer the food at Fogo to most higher end steakhouses where I have eaten. Excellent wine selection. The price is steep at ~$50/person, but if you go at lunch it is the exact same offerings at 1/2 price, which makes it reasonable. Unfortunately, lunch is only Monday-Friday. Devour Downtown is a great time to go, with lunch prices for dinner and it includes dessert, but reservations go fast and walk-in waits can be 2+ hours at peak times. If you compare the cost to other high end restaurants I think it is a fair value with more variety.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If they had 6 stars...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

...I would give it to them. This is my new most absolutely favorite place to eat! It is a carnivore's delight! Sullivan's used to be my fave but move over here comes Fogo! Always order a Caparainja (sp?) and then move on the the freshest most interesting salad bar. They have hearts of palm which you never see and the basil sauce is to die for! Of course what is better than cute guys in gauchos bringing sizzling perfectly seasoned meat on a skewer to your table and slicing a piece off to your liking? My mouth is watering just thinking about it. The service is excellent! If you like meat...GO! You won't regret it!

Helpful?
Thank Maasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food at Fogo is amazing! This is the place to go if you have a taste for meat! The food is good, but it is not a cheap date so check the website to get an idea of the prices before you go if you are questioning the value of the meal.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DTravelMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing