We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$.69 donuts!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long's Bakery

Long's Bakery
Ranked #2 of 29 Bakeries in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“$.69 donuts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The donuts were great. The yeast ones were just like Krispy Kreme, but cheaper. My only complaint is that the older lady working there was super slow and ended up not comprehending us and gave us the wrong thing. I would go back and pray somebody else helped me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blackyceqwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    18
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best alligator coffee cakes anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We used to live in Indianapolis, and Long's was a regular weekend trip for their Alligator coffee cakes and yeast doughnuts! We call ahead whenever we visit family so we can take coffee cake back to freeze so we can enjoy them whenever we want. No one in Kentucky has tasted anything like these flaky, yet dense, pastries!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I lived much closer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a gem of a bakery! Went out of our way to visit this bakery and it was well worth it. The doughnuts are very good and fresh no matter what time of day you stop in. The brownies are awesome and the caramel apple pie had a very buttery tasting crust. Everything "home-baked" no doubt. We bought 2 dozen doughnuts, 4 brownies and one pie for the price we pay for one dozen doughnuts only at a local doughnut shop. You can have your dough and save it too!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sgshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago vicinity
Level Contributor
213 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Greeted with a smile... for the 1st time, ever.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

After about a dozen visists, or so, I finally had a cheerful, smiling clerk at Long's! Despite the friendly customer service, which is usually of the quality you'd expect from an East Germany border guard during the Cold War, their donuts and pastries are very good. This is the best donut shop I'm aware of in the Indianapolis metro area. But on this last trip I thought that the number of options were noticeably fewer than in the past.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigTool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Busy and Tasty on a Saturday Morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Have meant to go here for years when visiting Indy. Finally stopped by on a Saturday AM to a long line...cash only.

They had a lot of clerks behind the counter so the line moved quickly. Got two dozen donuts and some miscellaneous extras. Light and tasty over all! better than Krispy Cream and Dunkin' Donuts.

Will stop by next time we visit the Grand Children!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long's Bakery also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Long's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing