We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

“This Englishman now loves collard greens”

Dick's Bodacious Bar-B-Q
Order Online
OR
Order Online
Ranked #95 of 2,831 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Downtown Indianapolis
Description: Traditional Texas Style Bar-B-Q conveniently located in the heart of downtown Indianapolis. Seating for up to 100ppl. Small side room can be reserved for up to 20ppl. Quick Service for lunch Mon-Fri 11am-3pm. Full Service 3pm-close and all weekend lunch and dinner. Outdoor seating available. TV's to watch your favorite sporting event. All meats are smoked on-site as you can smell when you walk into the restaurant.
Reviewed December 7, 2019 via mobile

Not really eaten any real barbecue and was told to try Dick’s by a guy at work. Let me start by saying my waitress was fantastic, so friendly and helpful.
I had a Lone Star beer which was ok as lagers go. Ordered a chicken wings n ribs platter with coleslaw and greens and a little corn muffin. The skin on the chicken was like leather but the flesh was lovely and juicy and great with either bbq sauce. The ribs were quite big and meaty and again great with either sauce.
The muffin was plain but ok, not sure about serving fairy cakes with barbecue but fine. The coleslaw was delicious, just how I like it, crunchy and not too drenched in sauce. The star of the show was the greens, spicy and warming. Shame we don’t have that in the UK.
After all that I had the pecan pie with ice cream and caramel sauce. Dear me, that was a treat
Thank you to the lovely staff, see you soon. Brisket and pulled pork next time.....

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank eej2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2019

We dine here before Indianapolis Pacer games. (Banker's Life Fieldhouse is just a couple of blocks away, easy walking distance. )
The food is excellent, the service is great, the owner will chat with you before you leave. We had the smoked salmon plate ($13.99) the last time we dined here. Boneless salmon filet, 2 sides and a bread of your choosing. We like the green beans, sweet potato casserole, and corn muffin. It's like home cooking. The wait staff will take care of you quickly if you let them know you are going to an event.
Interesting beer selection, clean bathrooms, children welcome, at least 2 big screen TVs with sports. They do a brisk carry-out business, too.
The extensive menu is almost mind-boggling but the knowledgeable staff will guide you. I once ordered a Caesar salad with salmon (not on the menu) and they very graciously provided it.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather_Kove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019

I visited Dick's Bodacious Barbecue on a business trip. I had the two meat plate with chopped chicken breast, dry rib wings, baked beans, and mac and cheese. The sweet baked beans were the best part of the meal. The chopped chicken breast was decent but not excellent. The wings were good size but they lacked on the dry rub and were not cooked to dry rub perfection. The mac and cheese was average. The portions were good for the price but from a taste perspective I've definitely had better.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Edgar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

Great place for bbq. Large portions, reasonable price, fun people watching on the patio. A bit noisy.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jobrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Brisket was good, rib tips were good, and the greens and cornbread muffin might be the best I ever had. Well done.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank brianhipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Bodacious Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Dick's Bodacious Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing