We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See! - A memorial 'on steroids'”

Indiana War Memorial
Ranked #6 of 166 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tribute to Indiana war veterans, from World War I to the Vietnam War.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Must See! - A memorial 'on steroids'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

The memorial's Shrine Room (top floor) is architecturally stunning. I have traveled much of the world and this room is one of only a few memorable spaces, such as Notre Dame Cathedral and the Grand Canyon. The top of the ceiling reaches 210 feet above the floor, or the equivalent of a 21-story building. There are 24 stained glass windows, 17-foot by 30-foot U.S. flag and tons of marble. Dimly lit and with places to sit, it is a fitting place to contemplate not only victory of war but the terrible cost of war in terms of lost lives, suffering and treasure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ParkLover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    126
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Impressive unexpected sight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Took a evening trip for dinner up from Louisville, had never been to downtown Indianapolis. As we pulled in, we noticed the large monument. It was very impressive and interesting to view. Unfortunately we were unable to go inside due to time constraints but I would love to return. Anyone going through the downtown area should take a few minutes to even just take it in from the outside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSchuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
319 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent Memorial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bring your camera for some good pictures of the memorial. Check it out in the morning and afternoon, the light makes a difference in photographing this memorial.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Delmar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Completely unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped by this war memorial while walking around downtown Indy. We didn't plan on visiting here but we are glad we stopped in. The museum was one of the nicest and most extensive we've seen outside of the Smithsonian museums in DC. Plenty of history and the shrine is immaculate. Best of all, the entire memorial is free!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelohio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a free museum and it is incredible. There is really no reason to not go. It has artifacts from hoosier soldiers in all the wars, as well as military memorabillia from around the world.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank indianaseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Indiana War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing