We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worth a stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indiana War Memorial

Indiana War Memorial
Ranked #6 of 158 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tribute to Indiana war veterans, from World War I to the Vietnam War.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We approached this thing from the north from quite a distance away. We didn't realize just how far away we were... it's huge. Very interesting indeed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    118
    17
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Remembering our past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very nice landmark in the heart of downtown. Relatively easy to access if you use parking facilities that are located in the surrounding blocks.

Monument has free admission. Nice views are available from the observation deck. The climb can be a workout but, there is an elevator that goes part of the way up.

The reliefs on the outside of the monument are very moving and tell the story of many era's struggles for our continued freedom and way of life!

Well worth the stop!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“God Bless our state and country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Showing honor to anyone that has served our country is good. I believe the memorial is in a good location.

Helpful?
Thank Amber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is actually the Soldiers' and Sailors' Memorial. Ascend to the viewing area at the top via stairs (about 325) or take an elevator for $2 (free to veterans). You still have several narrow stairways to climb even with the elevator, but the view is great. The War Memorial is much more than just this tower. It extends for several blocks down Meridian St, with a very well done museum with exhibits about the wars in our history. There is a section on the USS Indiana.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjce717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The war memorials in Indianapolis were very impressive. Be sure and check days and times because the war memorial is not open every day. We did not get to go inside and I hated that because I had heard wonderful things about it but even just seeing the outside was very impressive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana War Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Indiana War Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing