We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Christmas Lights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Zoo

Indianapolis Zoo
Ranked #12 of 156 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to over 2,000 animals and Indiana's largest aquarium, this 64-acre zoo has lions, elephants and other wild animals roaming through natural settings. A special petting area allows children to touch, but not feed, the tamer animals. There's also the world's largest enclosed dolphin show and a roller-coaster for all ages to enjoy.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went for Christmas lights. I am a Chicagoan - you know Lincoln Park Zoo? I thought Indy was even better!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    810
    543
    256
    41
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is one of the cleanest zoos I have ever visited. It has a nice layout so you can easily maneuver your way around. The underground area under the dolphin tank is really cool. A must for families with kids visiting Indy.

Helpful?
Thank ColtsFan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun day out with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great time and way for families to spend time together. The animals are amazing and the kids have a great time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kkposton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok Zoo!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Finally had a fairly nice day in January and took in the zoo. It was a pretty average zoo. Would have been better in the spring and summer for sure!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SavannahDan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Zoo Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family and I have been members of the zoo for the past two years. I have a three year old son and we never tire of the zoo. We went probably 15 times last year and had a great time each one. I've been to a lot of zoos and this one is right up at the top of my list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing