We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family day”
Review of Indianapolis Zoo

Indianapolis Zoo
Ranked #10 of 173 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to over 2,000 animals and Indiana's largest aquarium, this 64-acre zoo has lions, elephants and other wild animals roaming through natural settings. A special petting area allows children to touch, but not feed, the tamer animals. There's also the world's largest enclosed dolphin show and a roller-coaster for all ages to enjoy.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“family day”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

its an ok zoo they have it more like an amusement park than a zoo not a huge selection of animals kind of pricey to get in.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mandy42380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    976
    634
    287
    47
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Happy animals”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I dont know if zoos are all the humane..... I am an animal lover so seeing an animal in a cage can be disturbing . Having said that this zoo has very nice habitats for their animals they are large and clean and the animals all seem very healthy. I would have liked to have seen more zoo keepers walking around talking to people and answering questions. I like to think that is what people go to a zoo for......to learn. This is a good size zoo and we were there for a couple of hours. they were also doing work on several of the habitats so it was nice to know they are making improvements... Nice zoo

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank blushingbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Landscape needs alot of work.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This zoo is just average. The landscape around the zoo and inside needs alot of work. It just seems a little trashy at times. The zoo is ok other than that. Maintenance and landscaping is very noticable and would make your stroll around the park so much nicer. Takes work zoo but not that much money I would think for flowers and a few people to keep everything looking good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hoosier7189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwood
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“No Zoo Boo ever again!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Vistied the Indianapolis Zoo Oct. 21st and it was the craziest thing we have ever done.
Took the two grandsons for trick or treating at the zoo. While dealing with traffic lined up for miles in each directions just to park we finally get into the zoo (not cheap) just to find out there were only five tables set up through out the zoo to recevie candy. This place was a mad house and couldn't even get close to seeing any animals. NEVER AGAIN!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Small Zoo with Lots of Big Animals”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

As other reviewers have previously pointed out, this zoo is small. Fortunately, what it lacks in quantity it more than makes up for in quality. The exhibits have a very modern feel to them and are very attractive. Any one of them could have been installed last year.

During a recent visit, I was quite impressed by the selection of large animals that I found here. I was able to see a walrus, three rhinos, several elephants (including two babies), a polar bear, tiger, three lions, dolphins, a sea lion, cheetahs, a brown bear, wildebeests, kudus, zebras, and several other impressive specimens. There were also giraffes at the zoo, but they were not on display during my visit.

Highlights of my trip included the dolphin dome, where I could watch dolphins swim above and around me, the shark tank, where I was able to touch some dog sharks, and the white handed gibbon enclosure, where I could watch the primates swing and interact with a romp otters. If you come to the zoo, try to visit the gibbons during the afternoon when the gibbons sing to one another as part of a bonding ritual. These vocalizations can be heard throughout the zoo and the noise is spectacular.

The zoo has plans for a new orangutan exhibit which will only add to the excellence of the animal experience. While the admission price is somewhat steep, you can get cheaper tickets on-line from the zoo's website ($14.95 instead of $16.95.) I would highly recommend a trip to this zoo and plan to come back myself to see the orangutans in the future.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kasejason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing