We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places, inside and out.”

Indianapolis Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 172 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places, inside and out.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We generally visit at least twice a year. Not only is it a great art museum, but don't forget to tour the Lilly House (a historic mansion on the property), the greenhouse (where we buy their homegrown plants), the gardens, and the new outdoor trails, lake and artwork.

Admission is free except for certain exhibits and you can park for free at the Lilly House and walk to the areas.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lzsrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    254
    43
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“World class museum”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I visited art museums all over the world and the Indianapolis Museum of Art can more than hold its own with the best of them. There is art for every taste, whether it be a Matisse or a Calder or a piece of ancient Greek pottery. The building itself it striking, and we like that there's always a different art installation in the new grand foyer. We never know what we'll see the next time we visit. The grounds of the museum are akin to walking through a botanical garden. We enjoy the trail through the Hundred Acres on the other side of the canal. Well worth the traipse to see it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Gorgeous facility, beautiful building. Parking was ample and nearby. Enjoyed the galleries and displays we had a chance to see in our short visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank arbie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art Museum!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We recently spent the weekend in Indianapolis for the Bands of America marching band competition. We had a fabulous weekend--so much to see and loved the art museum. We are members of our hometown Detroit Institute of Arts and love to see museums in different parts of the country. This museum is not only packed with some great works of art but is beautifully designed. While visiting, the museum had a traveling exhibit on Matisse which was fantastic. We only had a couple of hours to spend before heading home so we didn't get to see the whole museum or the grounds which I have read are fantastic. Next time! And for those of you who like art museum gift stores--this museum had a wonderful selection of items.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“Great all around, but outdoors is best”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Neat design to the building, good children's art area, good art on display. The grounds are 100 acres that used to be the Eli Lilly estate. Lots of amazing gardens, hiking trails and outdoor art installations. Free admission. AMAZING place to go with elementary-age kids and explore. We loved it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing