We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous museum.”

Indianapolis Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 170 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage
Liberty, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous museum.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I loved the free admission--so much so that I later joined the museum as a member! There is something for everyone to enjoy--modern, traditional, fiber. The displays are interesting and informative.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tthemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    250
    43
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Indianapolis Museum of Art”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The grounds are beautiful. The museum for me is a restful, inspiring place. Whether you know anything about art or not, you will be impressed by the talented artists and sculptors whose works are displayed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice selection of plants”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently visited the greenhouse area of the IMA complex. There are lots of varieties of interesting and unusual plants as well as old standbys. The stock is in excellent condition and the prices are reasonable. Some of the available categories are trees, shrubs, succulents, annuals, perennials, ground covers and cacti. The gift shop also has some delightful pieces of art and other garden/natural related items also at very fair pricing.
It's not a large facility and can be absorbed in an hour or less. The staff are are most helpful in answering any questions and providing advice if needed. An interesting locale, surrounded by natural and formal gardens near the Lilly mansion a few hundred feet away.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Col_Mustard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
245 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Can't beat the free price!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I love all the different collections and styles of art. Each floor brings a different surprise. My favorite is contemporary but I also enjoy the rest. I always have a good time wandering around and there is always something new to see every time I visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura99IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend the afternoon. . . .”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Enjoyed all the exhibits. The museum has three floors of various types of exhibits: cultural, natural history and certain specific exhibits. The featured exhibits when we were there were Abraham Lincoln and James Dean. The museum has a tea room and small cafe and lots of spacious areas both inside and out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EjayMobile_Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing