We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Outstanding museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indianapolis Museum of Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 156 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Diverse set of collections and well curated, lovely architecture for the edifice as well, good restaurant, museum is organized well.

Visited February 2013
1 Thank shanderawx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Indianapolis treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Indianapolis Museum of Art has so much to do that it never ceases to amaze me that the whole place is free! You do have to pay for parking if you want to park close to the museum itself or in the underground parking garage, but free parking can still be found by the greenhouse. The bad news is that finding a place to park by the greenhouse has gotten very competitive on warm days. The museum is three floors of art including American art, European art, Asian art, and modern art. All the galleries surround a huge three-story atrium that on some nights hosts live bands and appetizers. During the summer, free movies are show on the terrace in the back.

Next door to the museum is the Lily House and Oldfields Estate. The mansion is open the same hours as the museum and is also free to tour. The first floor is decorated as it would have been when the Oldfields occupied the house while the second floor rooms have displays telling of the history of the house and Indianapolis.The grounds feature amazing gardens and trails that are very popular with photographers. In fact, I proposed to my now wife in the gardens, we had our engagement photos taken there, and we more recently had our daughters first professional photos taken there.

Across the canal in the back is 100 Acres, a new sculpture park featuring sculptures created specifically for the park in Indianapolis. It's a beautiful wooded setting surrounding a central lake and visitors are free to climb on some of the exhibits.

Visited October 2012
1 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great building; great contemporary art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a long visit there. Weather not conducive to a garden walk, tho I understand that is lovely. Mostly, the contemporary art was an eye-opener - a really engaging collection, wonderfully displayed.

Visited January 2013
1 Thank lctpdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent way to spend a Saturday afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My Grand daughter loves it here. They cjange the displays enough to keep you coming back and kids learn so much by going here

Visited December 2012
Thank j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful family oriented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was a great day when my husband and I took our young children to the museum. At first I was a little worried that they wouldn't enjoy it because of their age but they loved it. We ended up taking them to the summer time outdoor movie and it was a memorable evening!

Visited October 2012
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed


Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing