We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wasnt excited” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indianapolis Museum of Art

Indianapolis Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 163 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Kalam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wasnt excited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I wasnt excited or even slightly interested in going to this museum . I did it to appease my wife. I ended up enjoying myself. It wasnt overly sophisticated or intricate peices of art but it definitely was interesting. I actually liked goin there and would possibly return again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLGFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    247
    43
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must see experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

What an incredible museum. The grounds are fabulous too. Very nice museum shop too Good variety of art to be seen. I loved it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Twovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful walking tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Beautiful grounds to walk around - good for kids - the inside of the museum is better for older kids/teens.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Free art!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The IMA is a great place to visit if you're looking for something inexpensive. Free admission (except for special exhibits). They also have a large array of art, so there is something for everyone. My favorite part is the grounds though. Beautiful gardens to walk around!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm not much for art museums, but we had a social event hosted here. Admission was free and our hosts covered parking for everyone, so we made the most of it and explored the exhibits. Since I don't frequent these museums often I'm not sure how it rates among others. It was just okay. I wasn't blown away by any of the exhibits, but I didn't think any of them were particularly bad either-- except the modern art of course, but I assume the art is a matter of taste. The building was clean and spacious, there was a lot to take it, and the staff were friendly. Some folks brought their small children but it's not really meant for kids that young, and I personally would not have brought mine due to some of the exhibits (like furniture and statues) being within reach but obviously not intended to be touched. There's a cafe area on the main floor, if that makes or breaks your decision.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing