We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure not to miss the grounds while here”

Indianapolis Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 170 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 54,000 works of art, an early-20th-century estate, 152 acres of gardens and grounds, including an outdoor art and nature park, the IMA campus offers experiences that feed both the heart and mind.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Make sure not to miss the grounds while here”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have visited the IMA many times over the 15 years that we've lived in Indianapolis. I have mixed feelings about this museum. I love art and art museums. We used to go here on rainy weekends before we had kids and spend a few hours exploring, reading and enjoying their collections. The grounds are simply amazing and especially stunning in the spring. Since having kids, we've tried to go to the museum several times and I've always left feeling very irritated. My kids are well-behaved and enjoy museums, but I feel like the museum staff really frowns on you bringing kids to the museum. They glare and frown and have even made rude comments. I've been to the Louvre, Prado, Picasso Museum, Tate Modern, Uffizi and many other world famous museums where there are scores and scores of school groups looking at the most famous works of art. I feel so unwelcome going here with my kids that we've stopped trying after the last miserable visit. It's really too bad that children are not welcomed and encouraged to develop of love of art by the IMA.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank getalonggang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    250
    43
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the surrounding grounds”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

You must take a couple hours and walk the grounds. The 100acres woods has a plethora of art in unexpected and funny places. From the pirate ship to the architecturally beautiful mediation building in the middle of the woods, every twist and turn is a delight. More traditionally beautiful gardens, fountains and sculpture fill the space closer to the museum. Do not forget to go through the greenhouse to see strange and wonderful plants and gifts. Enjoy!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank joypaslov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must See”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The art inside the museum is great and so are the surrounding grounds. Museum is free! Bring a picnic and enjoy the art!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A true masterpiece”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The IMA (as we affectionately call the Indianapolis Museum of Art) is, for many, quite a pleasant surprise. For a city the size of Indianapolis, many people wouldn't think of it has having such a renowned museum. I think it is one of the best in the country because of the grounds and layout, the collections, and the organization.

Helpful?
Thank KarlZIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Where to start!?! The museum itself contained wonderful art and a good mix between modern contemporary, and the more detailed traditional look.
Also the Lilly house and gardens were exquisite! Everything in the house was educational and interesting, and durring the tour the less interested crowd (kids) can wonder into a playroom of fun stuff that still enqorperates Lilly house.
Ah, the gardens...... My favorite! Most recommended is late spring when it hasn't rained for a few days. Me and my dad loved the vast variety of gardens and plants.
Nestled around the museum is basically a modern art park complete with the most abnormal park benches you'll ever see and a abstract take on a basket ball court.
I know you'll love it!

Helpful?
Thank Friedfoodisfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing