We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to tour”

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum
Ranked #4 of 167 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum presents the stories of racing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the history of the automotive industry in Indiana, and has vehicles and race trophies and memorabilia from race events around the world. It houses one of the most important collections of racing vehicles and memorabilia in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Kinder, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I'm not a huge race fan, but I found this place very interesting to tour. Take the full 1.5 hour tour if you go. It's worth it. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the facility and I thoroughly enjoyed that. Museum is very cool too. Gift shop is pricey for nearly everything, but it's Indy. Most ladies will probably not be overly impressed by the speedway. It's just a guy thing I guess.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank highpocket74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,366
    536
    122
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited on the Presidents' Day long weekend, and were lucky enough to do a grounds tour. We took our 4 children aged 2 - 12 yrs. We are not into cars at all, but we found the whole afternoon to be thoroughly interesting and entertaining. Our guide Jason was very knowledgable, and all of our kids loved it. We kissed the bricks like the winners get to, and got to stand on winners podium. Highly recommend this place when visiting Indy.

Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If you like racing or just auto tech this is a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

They have about 80% of the Indy winners from the start. Cool to see the evolution of independent front suspension, turbos, air foils and the like.

It's in the middle of the speedway so you get to drive in a tunnel under the grandstands. Nice gift shops but pricy.

I needed 1 1/2 hour. $5 admittance,

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FromVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting even if not a racing fan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Even it not a racing fan the museum is still an interesting place to visit. Be sure to take the tour around the track, I think that is the best part. One thing about this museum, compared to others, is that the displays are always changing. The Speedway has so many cars that is not big enough to display at one time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank indycar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Popular Indy Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We live about 20 minutes from the Speedway and have visited the track/museum once. It was a neat historical experience, and for those who love racing, it is a must!

Helpful?
Thank ColtsFan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing