We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun !”

Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum
Ranked #4 of 173 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum presents the stories of racing at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, the history of the automotive industry in Indiana, and has vehicles and race trophies and memorabilia from race events around the world. It houses one of the most important collections of racing vehicles and memorabilia in the world.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Martin, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun !”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved seeing the cars and we took a bus tour and was able to go on the track! That was very fun! Glad we did it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,495
    577
    128
    30
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Tour Is Great!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The museum is awesome and the track is hallowed ground for any sports fan. My son and I took the track tour and it was very cool. You get to ride in a bus around the track and actually walk on the front stretch. The only time you'll ever get to do this-I've got the greatest picture of my son climbing the infield fence. We got to go up in the press box and stand in the winner's circle. It was a really special day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to take out of town guests”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A great place in Indiana to take out of town guests, especially if they are car and/or racing enthusiasts. The museum isn't the biggest, but a perfect size to make a fun morning or afternoon and partner with a good meal nearby.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle46221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great Museum - fun for all. Racing is fun, but you must remember this is not a small track and you will not see everything like at a small track. Stands are hot partially because they are have closed in bottoms and does not allow airflow. Pack a cool hat, plenty of sunscreen and cold drinks. We always pack some moistened handkercheifs or hand towels in zip bags and add them to our cooler - they really help. Like any outdoor event - plan for everything. Have fun!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brickyard 400 was Amazing!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I went to the Brickyard 400 for the first time this year and will be making return visits in the years to come. We had a great time and the sounds of the cars coming off turn 4 are something to experience. Lots of sunscreen is needed here and drink plenty of water it gets hot!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisapleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indianapolis Motor Speedway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing