We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to go with little kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Museum of Indianapolis

Children's Museum of Indianapolis
Ranked #1 of 156 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest children's museum in the world urges children to dig in and touch everything as they explore the physical and natural sciences, history, world cultures and the arts through exciting interactive exhibits on five floors. There's also a planetarium and a theater with children's plays and live entertainment.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to go with little kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Growing up in Indianapolis, I loved going to this museum. Lot's of fun, interractive things for kids to do and see without getting told "dont touch." As a creative adult, I appreciate all that goes into a museum like this. I am not sure older kids or adults without kids would be as excited about it. My favorite things are the trains, the old carousel, and the dinosaurs.

Helpful?
Thank Danielle46221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,052
    439
    126
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a wonderful place to take children. CM has a vast amount of learning and fun for everyone and is highly interactive. It is like a wonderland to children. CM brings in different exhibits throughout the year that even adults can enjoy. You cannot go wrong taking your children to this museum.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helpothers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
“We will definitely be going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to the Children’s Museum during the 4th of July weekend. Not only did my kids have an awesome time, but the staff went above and beyond with an issue we ran into that was not their fault. We lost our car keys in the museum and could not find them anywhere. We are from Cincinnati and had no one to contact. Instead of saying, “sorry you can’t find your keys…we will call you if we find them” like most places would, they found associates that had car seats for our 2 kids and put them in their company van and took us back to our hotel. Luckily my wife had her spare car key with her, so they also took me back to the museum so I could get our car. What these associates did for us (I wish I could remember their names) is not something you can teach. These were genuinely good people who were probably very busy, but took time to help us in a time of need. Thank you again for your help and we will definitely be back and have already recommended the Indianapolis Children’s Museum to all of our family and friends in the Cincinnati area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Let The Kids Roam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great place to let the kids get lost. The exhibits are entertaining and educational. This is a good place for a day outing, especially if you can pack a picnic lunch and eat outside on the lawn on a sunny day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ErnestJutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best With Children, Still Great Without!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were very excited to finally have children to take with us to the Children's Museum. Before you get inside, it is already exciting. Imagine a dinosaur mother and baby peering in the ceiling windows, so fantastic. If you have little girls with you, don't go to the Barbie display until after you've seen most of what you want to see. We planned to be there in the morning only. The museum staff had to throw us out at the end of the day. Ride a carousel, visit a maze of mirrors, splash in the water, go on a dig, and finally design an outfit for old Barbie!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cmosca52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Indianapolis also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing