We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Out of this World Cool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Museum of Indianapolis

Children's Museum of Indianapolis
Ranked #1 of 153 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest children's museum in the world urges children to dig in and touch everything as they explore the physical and natural sciences, history, world cultures and the arts through exciting interactive exhibits on five floors. There's also a planetarium and a theater with children's plays and live entertainment.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of this World Cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As we were on a road trip from Houston, TX to Niagara Falls, Canada, this was going to just be a stop in which we got out of the car to take pictures with the dinosaurs outside the museum and head back on the road.
Once we were there – it looked so cool from the lobby that we decided to tour the place. We wasted about 3 hours from our itinerary, but it was well worth it. I just wish we would have had more time to enjoy it. It was a little pricey, but I think it was well worth it.
We have a Children’s museum in Houston and we don’t go as we feel that it’s geared more towards toddlers. This one is HUGE and my son (10) and daughter (13) loved it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,990
    429
    124
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun and knowledgeable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

our trip was on the thanksgiving weekend to the children's Museum..We spent 3 hours to see all the 5 levels .. if you have kids you may want to keep the entire day for this since there are many interactive stuff that the kids will enjoy.. the theater shows and musicals were enjoyable .. we also went for a Cosmic show about the stars in the planetarium it was awesome .. a nice trip and the shows are all free .. so the entry fee is really worth it..

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JER1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worlds Largest equal Worlds Best?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I don't know if this is the best childrens Museum (Houston has a great one that is better in some regards), but this is a great one to bring your child to enjoy. They have the space to be working on a new area and you don't even notice. The planetarium and movies are included in the admission price. Pricing is designed for frequent visits and they have enough to come a lot of times each year. The staff working with the children were friendly and had lots of programs scheduled all day. My son loved the "Hot Wheels Real" Designing program and the Dino dig the best. Road repair area was also a hit.
The food court is adequate, but pricy enough to consider bringing your own lunch with you.
Overall, worth return visits even if we won't come often enough to take advantage of the member pricing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank skydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There is a reason why this place is rated the best. So much for the kids to do and was so much fun. It was very close and easy to get to

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh! Those dinosaurs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I wish the Children's Museum had had the wonderful dinosaur exhibit when my sons were small. Great museum with great exhibits and something for everyone. The Aids exhibit was compelling, the Indy 500 cars exciting - and accessible, but the dinosaurs are the stars. The excitement builds as you drive by and see the life sized dinosaurs crashing through the museum's walls. Fun for all ages, and educational too.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank letterladyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Indianapolis also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing