We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly or Unwashed linens & towels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #94 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poorly or Unwashed linens & towels”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel gave me crabs! It's true. I spent four nights and in the fifth day I was itching "down there". That's when I found two crabs on me. Then I got out of bed and looked at the blankets where I discovered several dead crabs on the white blanket. I showered, grabbed a new towel and on the towel was dried food!!! I told the manager and he was confrontational. I travel a lot for business and this was completely disappointing and awful. The hotel lobby is nice by the way and the staff too. I just think they don't wash the blankets or if they do it's in cold water (not hot enough to get rid of food on towels and especially not hot enough to kill the previous guests SDT's).

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    88
    36
    22
    32
See reviews for
95
49
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Booked this location through Priceline for $45 + taxes/fees. (great deal)
A bit further away from where I actually wanted to be but not a bad location.
Overnight stay to attend the Vintage Wine Fair, the hotel is located across from Lucas Stadium.
Not many choices for dining within reasonable walking distance but we found a great place just a block away (Basey's Grill .. see my review). Read the reviews after I saw what Tripadvisor picked for me and was expecting poor customer service. Quite the contrary! Everyone was very friendly more that willing to help. If their customer service was lacking before they certainly have made a turnaround. Even received a complimentary early check in when we arrived at 11:30 . Gotta love that. It made it great for attending the wine fair on time. The only two things that kept my review from rating as a 5 was the lack of shuttle (temporarily unavailable) and a sub-par breakfast offering. It would have been nice to have been shuttled to the wine fair (especially on the way back). Breakfast was not bad .. just not as good and as many varieties as some of the other Comfort Inns we have experienced. Room was great ...very spacious and extra clean .. even had exhaust fan in the bathroom .. don't see those much any more.
Overall a great stay .. good job Priceline and Comfort Suites.

Room Tip: Block away is Basey's Grill .. great place for grub See my review. Don't worry about a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mao007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great value downtown property next door to Lucas Oil Stadium. If that's your destination, you can't get much closer. It's on the west side of the stadium and on the west border of what would be considered "downtown" (hence the West St. address) but handy enough to other downtown venues, dining and entertainment. Most can be reached in about 15 minute walk. The hotel shuttle will take you anywhere you want to go downtown, if available, for $5 / room (not per person). We used that service with great success and had access as good or better than other downtown hotels that would cost more than $100 / night more. Inside, predictable, modern Comfort Suites fare, not much different of a feel than what you'd get at a Comfort Suites on a suburban highway interchange. If you don't need the full service (though there is a small bar with limited hours), this could be a good value alternative to the larger full service downtown alternatives--with one exception--parking here ($20/night) on par with other downtown hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was not far from convention center. The rooms were nice and had good light. Also they had additional plugs for computers, phones, etc on the desk. So great not to have to search for plugs. The bed was great and the room was quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate--nothing fancy. The shuttle was $5.00 to downtown area. it was $5.00 per room not per person. We took it once and found we could walk to the convention center.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and they were very accommodating. We were on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here while in town for a conference. My room was clean, quiet, and just fine for business travel.

The hotel is literally across the street from Lucas Oil, a 5 minute walk from the convention center, and a 10-15 minute walk from most entertainment and eateries downtown.

Parking was $20/night but there seemed to be plenty. Breakfast was okay but generally below par for other similar hotels. At least it was included in the price of the room.

If you're looking for something fancy, go to the JW Marriott just up the street. But for reasonably priced business travel to Indy or an event at Lucas Oil Stadium this hotel was good.

Minor gripe: Why buy high definition televisions if you aren't going to spring for HD content? Most of the channels were not in HD.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We had reserved 8 rooms for a baseball tournament and arrived early. We were unable to check in but they allowed our team to get dressed in a temporary room. After our tournament, we did not have a problem checking in which was about 930 pm.

The rooms were clean and didnt have any issues. Front desk was very polite. Will definitely consider for next years trip.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jorge O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Our company booked 27 room nights while we were attending a convention. On our fourth night the hotel made a mistake and sold a room out from under us that we had already occupied and paid for. (There was actually a hilarious side this to story -- putting two strangers in the same room, sharing toothbrushes, charging them both -- but it's too long to tell here.) Night manager was rude, rude, rude. This was a situation where a little bit of empathy and concern for the customer would have at least made us feel better but no, he was contentious from the beginning. Instead of apologizing and trying to make it right he tried to turn it around and make it our fault! The whole city was booked up because of the convention so we had to send one of our people home early -- leaving at ten o'clock at night. The hotel wasn't even planning to credit us for the room they gave away until we pressed for it. "As as a courtesy" they agreed to credit us. As a courtesy??? Bad experience here.

Room Tip: My advice is to avoid this place entirely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyRoads66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#52 of 182 in Indianapolis
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 515 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1139 (Formerly Comfort Suites City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Comfort Suites Indianapolis
Indianapolis Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing