We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room, poor customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #100 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel. We loved it the first time, but our second experience left a little to be desired. This time we stayed here the night before the Mini-Marathon. The employee who checked us in was not very friendly and when we asked for an extension on the check-out time (11 AM), because it would be hard for us to finish the race and enjoy some of the after-race festivities we received a flat -out "no", with no explanation, no offer to accommodate us at all. We were not asking for hours, just a half hour or so, which would have enabled us to not feel so rushed after the race. The hotels we've stayed at in the past in Indianapolis had offered late check-out times for Mini-Marathon runners without us even having to ask, so we were quite taken aback by the response we received and we will probably take our business elsewhere for future Mini-Marathons or other events.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 286 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

rooms were great, with every thing you could want, microwave, refrig,coffee maker.
But breakfast was another matter,what was left was cold and not much of it. they did give us an added discount because of being in town for a funeral.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here for a conference at the convention center. Its not the high dollar places around it, but it was clean and felt safe enough to walk from there to the convention center about 4 blocks away and to other hotels and dining options in the area. They had a hot breakfast as well as the normal donuts and muffins, all fresh and plenty for the amount of people staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

the blame here rest squarely on the general manager of this property,,,,,who was never around.
1. arrived to a smiling receptionist, give a key, went to my room - which was occupies.
2. back downstairs, was assigned another room - went in an found shoes, clothing - obviously someone was staying there.
this should be a huge red flag that a strange is allowed into someone elses room
3. Finally, I have a room that no one was in......found out why......carpet dirty, jelly stains on the sofa arm, sofa cushions had stains with visable hair on the cushions and the sitting chair had white stains (appeared to be ejaculate) on the cushion and dried down the front. the flip side didn't look any better. Bed spread had visable food stains. This is worse than a truck stop budget hotel that charges $30/night.....here you get it for $140/night
Lani Hatcher the customer service manager was great- reacted quickly and politely and moved me to a much cleaner room and even gave me a dinner gift certificate. She did a great job of making things right. this hotel has a serious cleaning service problem that I'm sure would not pass a health inspection. Lani's customer services skills would be better served at a better hotel.
Positives: stiff bed was great - very comfortable. free wifi is great. plenty of room.
If I'm back in Indy, I'll avoid this property.

Room Tip: inspect it for cleanliness, dust,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamasGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for a night in 2009, and based on that experience and continued positive TA reviews decided to stay here again for this trip. We checked in Saturday afternoon, went to a concert Saturday night, Colts game on Sunday, and left Monday.

The room was very comfortable. Large enough to let us spread our stuff out and still have room to chill. Bed was awesome. Shower was awesome. We heard people in the halls, but not around us. Very comfortable room. We didn't use the microwave but the fridge is super handy.

The breakfast is ok. Get there early because seating is limited and it gets cramped. Scrambled eggs and bacon on Sunday am, and eggs and sausage patties on Monday. Overall, food taste was good. Waffles were typical hotel qualtiy waffles. Tasty.

Check in was a little painful. the street is one way southbound, and the entrance is essentially a 180 degree left hand turn. There were several cars in the drive just parked, and I had to sit on West St. for about 10 minutes while the wife went in to check us in. Eventually the cars all moved, and I was able to get off the road. This is a big safety issue, and soemthing the hotel needs to address. Checkout was seamless. The parking garage next door was super handy.

I also spent some time in the pool and hot tub. I loved the hot tub, and the pool was average. Just wish I didn't have to get out every 15 minutes to reset the timer on the hot tub!!!

The proximty to Lucas Oil field can't be beat either. The Holiday Inn Express was charging over $200/night for Sat/Sun while the Comfort Suites was sold out. Shocker.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here recently on a business trip. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. I was traveling with someone who required special assistance because of a disability and the staff really helped out.

Beds were very comfortable - great pillows. Room was really spacious (double). Had a little sitting area with a sofa and chair. Large mini fridge and microwave. Free wifi.

Breakfast was pretty good - typical cold items and breads, but also eggs, waffles and breakfast meets.

Overall really great value!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missamandajones10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hotel right next to Lucas Oil Stadium, also a safe walking distance to downtown. Nice beds, we slept great. Breakfast buffet crowded but still very good. Can leave your car onsite for game. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Great location, easy walking distance to downtown. We slept great, very nice beds. Would stay again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohiograndpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis Downtown City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown

Address: 515 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1139 (Formerly Comfort Suites City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: $102 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites City Centre Hotel Indianapolis
Comfort Suites Indianapolis
Indianapolis Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing