We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to burn some energy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Climb Time Indy

Climb Time Indy
Ranked #15 of 46 Fun & Games in Indianapolis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb Time Indy is dedicated to providing the best that rock climbing has to offer. We are focused on maintaining a safe environment where climbers of all ability levels and ages can get better, learn more and above all else, have fun climbing. Climb Time offers a wide range of difficulty levels from very easy to moderate to extremely difficult. Whether you are looking for powerful bouldering, sustained routes, or just a day out with the family, Climb Time Indy has what you are looking for!
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place to burn some energy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been to climbing gyms all over the country, and this one was on par. Nice walls, lots of routes. The facility was clean and well maintained. I stick to bouldering, and they had a ton of climbs that ranged from simple to pretty freaking hard. I read the comments about rude staff, and I did not encounter any of that. The guy working the counter was friendly. I kind of liked the pet snake in the lobby, too...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    1
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap climbing gym with poor short routes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This gym is best set up for bouldering as the walls are very short ~10m. So as I hit the bouldering walls I realized the main draw back at Climb time. Easier bouldering routes are very poorly set! Each V0 or V1 was just a ladder with right hand left hand up up up..... There were no interesting problems until you moved into much harder ratings. Perhaps if they re-set some harder routes with larger holds there would be an interesting challenge for beginners. Also it would be difficult to progress as much the mental technique is so important to learn along with physical training.

The place was very dark especially the Far overhanging wall where a headlamp would have helped on the route. Overall the gym feels ordinary, uninspired, and just kind of hanging on. The staff seems tired and annoyed that they need to do their jobs, and I agree with other reviewers that their handicapped belay setups and lackluster attitude about training are irresponsible.

Either way its a good work out in a pinch, but it wouldn't be much fun with a membership.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Cleav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Doesn't look very big from the outside, but it was great. Spent most of the day here with the 4 of us climbing. Some areas more challenging than others.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DutchLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good family/friend fun. Good practice for serious climbers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Good for something different to do. Great activity to do with family and friends. Requires Moderate to Good physical health. You will leave tired.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great staff of young guys who were willing to help a first-timer and two kids. You're free to explore on your own. Although we had passes to climb free, I'd pay the rates without question and will definitely return. Best time to go may be during the week when crowds are a little smaller. Those shoes hurt! Lie and give them a shoe size 3 times what yours really is :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thebri2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Climb Time Indy also viewed

 

Been to Climb Time Indy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing