We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-smoking room reeked of smoke”
Review of Super 8 Huntington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Huntington
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Huntington
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We arrived at the Super 8 to find a nice looking lobby, got the keys, opened the door (which had the sign 'no smoking' on it.) The room smelled like someone had just had a smoking party. My daughter looked out the window (which opened but didn't have a screen) and said that there were cigarette butts all outside the window. She said, "The other rooms probably smell like smoke too",- so we didn't change rooms. Because it was early and we didn't know what else to do, we went for a drive and looked at the Huntington College campus. We decided to put out suits on and go to the swimming pool but the water was very cold (no hot tub) so we just sat in the pool area to avoid the smokiness. The room seemed clean but I wouldn't go here again after that experience. If I ask for a non-smoking room, I expect a room free from the smell of smoke. When I checked out, they couldn't find my reservation and I found out that I was checked out early- even though we hadn't. If I had just left, we wouldn't have had to pay for the night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnetteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 188 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Nothing fancy here. But if you need an alright place to spend a night, this Super 8 is better than most in that chain. I've stayed here before...but this time I downgraded the cleanliness, as I found crumbs and a kleenex partly under the bed after I checked in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustaHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessi S, General Manager at Super 8 Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! I apologize that your room was not cleaned properly and will address the situation with our staff. I hope you decide to stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I can say that the room was clean... But our room didn't have a microwave or refrigerator. We requested a refrigerator twice to room 207, but never received one. Came to find out that a friend staying on the 1st floor actually did receive a refrigerator. It makes me so angry because the lady said they didn't have one. Our room was non-smoking, yet I could smell smoke. The breakfast wasn't good. Lots of slamming doors on 2nd floor. We should get our money back that's for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duckie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I love this place has everythng you would want in a hotel..... The ice machine worked, our
room was really clean and everything in working order

Room Tip: room was nice and clean.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Desk clerk sent us to park at end door. Door did not work, she had to come and kick it open (it sticks). Went into room, a/c did not work. Had to move all our belongings to 2nd floor. Went to get some ice. None, ice machine did not work. Went to get on elevator and was greeted by a pitbull and his owner, who was in a foul mood and hollering at the dog.
Breakfast Sat was tolerable but bread was stale. My husband went to get on the elevator and met a different pitbull. (different owner). Sunday we went down for breakfast and were greeted by a lady at a table with two children who had just gotten out of bed. Come to find out she was the desk clerk. Another fellow who was having breakfast told her they were out of water, her reply no it just drips out of the machine. Soon along came a fellow who I assumed was her husband. Guess he stayed there also. When we came down to check out, she had a child on her hip who was whining and crying. She was trying to console the child, type on the computer and get our bill printed out. I do not have anything against dogs as I love them, but don't think it a good idea to have pitbulls in a hotel. I think it is most inappropriate to have her children at work with her.
On Saturday morning, we made our own beds and asked the maids for clean towels, and to please empty the garbage as we had relatives to the room Fri. nite and had accumulated extra garbage. Got two towels and one washcloth, the overflowing garbage was not dumped. Truly not impressed and would not recommend it to anyone.
That has turned us off from ever trying another Super 8. It cost us $62.00 per night. Next time I will pay the hundred for the Holiday Inn down the street.

Judy

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gofrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for the duration of a year. It was the first hotel I stayed at in Huntington and was the only one I stayed at out of several others. I did not feel the need to explore the services of any other. My rooms were always clean, the service was always super...and cable. They had so many good channels on the tube. Breakfast there offered a variety of delishious options from fresh fruit, to hot waffles that you can make. It quickly became home away from home with its location within a stones throw from quality dining establishments and a gas station. Not to meantion that the staff is amongst the most friendly and helpful people I have EVER met in my 27 years. If my career ever brought me back to Huntington, the Supet 8 would STILL be the only hotel to get my buisness. As a matter of fact, it would be my first stop apon my arrival to Huntington.. :)

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinceTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Very clean hotel with a good breakfast yogurt too pool and nice clerks

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudmom828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Huntington

Address: 2801 Guilford St, Huntington, IN 46750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Huntington 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Huntington
Huntington Super 8
Huntington Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing