We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Langel's ground sausage!”

Langel's Pizza and Rodney's Sports Bar
Ranked #14 of 107 Restaurants in Hammond
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love Langel's ground sausage!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

At first I wasn't so sure about the sausage they serve on their pizzas...it is ground, not in clumps on your pizza. But I have become a huge fan! They are always on time with deliveries and are fairly priced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank islaluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very popular Pizza Place”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Parking was an issue when we went, but there's a reason for that. The food was great and there’s a fairly large selection of beers, but mostly in bottles. They had a couple of local brews on tab.

The menu is Italian, not much outside of that. The Italian sausage sandwich with waffle fries was fantastic. We had pizza a couple of times too, everyone liked it. Prices were good as well.

They have a large glassed-in seating area right on the sidewalk that appears to be popular for families. We usually went to the bar for the sports televisions.

I'd recommend it; it's worth a short walk from the parking lot on the corner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrs437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good place to fill up”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Langel's is a very friendly place that gives you plenty of bang for the buck. Good portions of home cooking, including a really nice pizza.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AltGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Regionites--Check Out Da Cal City Style Pizza Here!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Langels is very much in the style of the much beloved and now gone John's Pizza in Cal City. John's pioneered this style of pizza--softer and more dough than a usual Southside thin crust, slightly sweet and herbal sauce, and crumbled sausage. Yes, you gotta get the crumbled sausage.

The best part is that the kitchen stays open really late. Get some!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garvey_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
157 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Brilliant Fish and Chips”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Langel’s is located in downtown Highland, Indiana. This is a big place and very popular when televised sporting events are shown. We went for lunch when it was less crowded. The menu carries the usual fare for a sports bar. They also offer a buffet, with a salad table, pizza buffet, and then fried and roasted chicken, mashed potatoes and vegetables. Since I’m usually disappointed with the quality of buffets, we opted for a meal off the menu. They had a special luncheon menu for Lent, three fish dishes. We ordered the fish and chips and the Salmon sliders. I am a harsh judge of fish and chips. My taste for this wonderful dish was shaped by the fish and chips you get in England. Unfortunately hardly anyone in this country has anything remotely close to what you can get in England. I usually don’t even order it, but the menu had a photograph of their platter and it looked pretty good. The fish and chips came hot, very essential. There were three nice pieces with a nice portion of fish. Not as large as you get in England, but much better than the average fish and chips in this country. The batter fried pieces were crunchy and delicious. It also came with Dubliner fries. It looks like a potato, maybe partially baked, then sliced in half inch thick medallions, which is fried. Very tasty. My wife ordered the sockeye salmon sliders, salmon patties on a small hamburger bun with tomato, lettuce, onion, and tartar sauce. They were quite good as well. The buffet is $8.95, the fish and chips were $9.95, and the salmon sliders were $7.95. It was all good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RexGermanorium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langel's Pizza and Rodney's Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to Langel's Pizza and Rodney's Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing