We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but Hard to Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hammond
GreenLeadersSilver level
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but Hard to Find”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice hotel, clean room & lobby. Breakfast area was ok but food wasn't hot. Was coming from Chicago and had a hard time finding the hotel since the street in front of the hotel road doesn't go all the way through. Was charged an additional $50 for in room movies which wasn't mentioned on the website. Did receive it back when we checked out but felt the website should mention the additional charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packerfan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lora m, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review for our hotel. I apologize for the delay in my response. I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty locating out hotel but I do hope you visit us again in the future.
Lora Milroy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    39
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
35
30
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The staff was friendly, but my initial ? was questioning, because the elevator floor was not only well worn, butf could have used a cleaning. When I spoke to the desk about it as I was leaving, I was told new carpet was waiting to be put down and they were glad to hear what I thought. My traveling companions in another room brought attention to a problem in their room and it was immediately fixed. The room and bathroom were clean. The bed was comfortable. I had a front room with the bright street lamp, but the curtains blocked it completely. Others in my party used the pool. Breakfast was decent; hot oatmeal, sausage gravy, boiled eggs, the usual toast, bagel, muffin and waffles. There were fruit cups and milk, including skim. I thought it was a good value.
The Marriott complex is next to several restaurants. One is Cracker Barrel. It is also very close to a Travelers Information service. Inside is interesting with exhibits and a John Dillenger museum.

Room Tip: I was in Room 210 which was directly across from a drink machine and next to an elevator. This did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonta48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

Nice basic hotel. Clean room and lobby. Fitness center has a bike, treadmill and elliptical plus some nice dumb bells. They kept running out of breakfast items like skim milk fruit and peanut butter - mildly annoying. Curtains on the window did a poor job of blocking out the very bright street lamp outside my window - THAT was annoying. Also the towels were old an thin. Other than that it's not bad.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my37122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lora m, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review on our hotel. I apologize for the delay in my response. The staff and management team here are committed to making every guest's stay an enjoyable one. I am truly sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. If you decide to come this way in the future, please contact me personally so that I can ensure your stay will be better.
Lora Milroy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This Fairfield Inn is co-located with a two other Marriott properties (Courtyard and Residence Inn). As the most economical, don't expect frills, but the rooms are decently clean and the beds were comfortable enough. I didn't have high expectations, so I was relatively pleased with what I got.

The location is right off Interstate 80 and Kennedy Avenue. They serve a modest breakfast and parking is free. This hotel is roughly 45 minutes to downtown Chicago in moderate traffic. Staff were nice and friendly. Room was generally clean, but some complaints were of the furniture needing replacement. My desk chair was heavily soiled, so I had to cover it with a bath towel before sitting on it. Also, my remote control was kinda gross, but other than that, they seemed to do a pretty good job of cleaning the rooms, and a bonus for me was that the A/C worked well! Lots of business guests seemed to be there. Oh yeah, my room was right next to the elevator, and there was a lot of loud "knocks," which were pretty annoying. I'm pretty sure I was one of the few lucky guests who got to experience those noises. lol

They do have an indoor swimming pool. Besides the complaints I mentioned, I would recommend this hotel, and stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay AWAY from the elevators!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I stopped here on my way from MI to Chicago. It is really easy to find- right off the express way with two other Marriot brand hotels. It was clean and I felt safe, but nothing fancy. I didn't swim, but the pool was operational and looked clean. The breakfast was quite basic with the only hot food oatmeal or a make-it-yourself waffle. Not much in the way of fruit- a fruit salad cup in the fridge. No complaints- you get what you pay for and this was much more reasonable then the other Marriot hotels here.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed one night . Was ok until bunch of teenagers came and made so much noise knocking on doors, yelling. Tough getting sleep as people including the noisy teenagers kept on getting ice from the machine. Sometime during the night our refrigerator was making humming sounds that we ended up unplugging it. Complimentary Internet was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Poohbear928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Clean beds, quick service, this was a good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchiuPVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammond
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Northwest Indiana Inn
5.0 mi away
Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Munster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
Address: 7720 Corinne Dr, Hammond, IN 46323-3128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn Hammond, IN hotel located along I-80/94, is just 30 minutes from Downtown Chicago and 20 minutes from Horseshoe Casino. Our hotel features stylish rooms and free amenities including WiFi, hot breakfast and onsite parking. An easy alternative to downtown Chicago rates, guests rave about our excellent value and friendly staff. Our modern guest rooms are highlighted by flat-screen TVs, plush bedding, and in-room mini-fridges and microwaves. Start each morning at our new breakfast buffet offering Belgian waffles, scrambled eggs, hot coffee and more. Families appreciate our indoor pool while business travelers can get their workout in at our 24-hour fitness center. Our ideal location provides easy access to the area's top destinations including the Indiana Dunes, Horseshoe Casino, and Cabela's. Nearby businesses include ArcelorMittal, BP, Lear, and Praxair. Choose the Fairfield Inn & Suites Hammond, and enjoy the free perks and terrific service that makes this one of the top Hammond, IN hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond Hotel Hammond
Fairfield Inn Hammond
Fairfield Hammond
Hammond Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing