We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tidy - and Most Important "Clean" Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hammond
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tidy - and Most Important "Clean" Rooms”
Reviewed September 12, 2007

For the price and mainly for the "cleanliness" you cant beat staying here. Granted they have a second floor and no elevator but if trouble walking they try very hard to accomodate with a room close to the stairway. Our room was VERY CLEAN and this is VERY important to me. Everything the room should have had was there - an ashtray since we are smokers. Johnels right next door is a super plus if one doesnt want the Continental breakfast which we prefer to sit down and order what we want. Granted nothing much in the way of places to go but we were there for a family funeral. Just down the road is Quality Inn which we experienced and had a horrible one at that - talk about not only dirty but truly FILTHY so Ramada Inn is the place when we need to come back for whatever reason to our hometown.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank JudI123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    49
    63
    40
    20
See reviews for
51
54
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

As with all hotel properties, this one has several good as well as several negative aspects. Let's start with the good. The lobby is nice and spacious and the gazebo/pool area in the central courtyard is very nice.The hotel has only two floors and most staff were friendly and helpful. There is a basic complimentary continental breakfast each day with toast, muffins, cereal, juices, yoghurt, tea, coffee and some fresh fruit, but there are no cooked items.

I did have some issues with the property. You feel as if you are 'in the middle of nowhere' when staying here. Johnel's restaurant (large portions but mediocre food) is next door: KFC and a bowling alley are across the street along with a pizzaria. Other than that there is really nothing nearby and Hammond itself appears to be a town that prosperity passed by. Those who like to go for a walk after dinner will be disappointed by the 'down at the heels' aspect of the town. The hotel is undergoing a renovation (though I saw no work in progress) as most rooms are very tired and worn. You can hear noises from the hallway and adjoining rooms quite easily. Depending on traffic it will take 30 minutes or so to get into Chicago by personal vehicle. I would prefer a hotel which has been upgraded; has more amenities nearby and is in Chicago or a nicer suburb.

  • Liked — Complimentary breakfast, newspaper
  • Disliked — Location terrible - nothing of interest nearby
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank emeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammond hotels

BLOOMINGTON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

The rooms are a little beat up. It's a pre-fab concrete construction hotel, and it's not bad. The furniture can be slightly stained and there can be marks and stains on the walls and bathroom fixtures. Some of the air conditioners are excessively loud and also bent up a bit.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool is ok. No exercise room, and the WiFi works only by whimsy during my stays. This is my fourth time here, so I guess it's ok, and it's far far far cheaper than any hotel room you'll find in or nearby downtown Chicago, which is just a 20-30min easy drive up the Chicago Skyway or US 41.

The area is patroled (the cops eat at the nearby restaurant) and it's near food, groceries, filling stations, pharmacies, and so on. It's about three miles from the Horseshoe Casino, and can be noisy with trains going nearby, the nearby Skyway, and the noisy airconditioners.

  • Liked — Location and cost
  • Disliked — maintenance and upkeep of furnishings
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank toomanymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2006

My Mom and I went on a bus trip and stayed at the Ramada for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and modern. the breakfast was complimentary and had a great variety.
The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The housekeeping staff even left us little treats in the room.

There was a shuttle bus to the local casino and the driver was soooo friendly. He gave us a brief history of the area. We even won a couple of jackpots at the casino!

The restaraunt was also very good and very reasonably priced.

If I am ever in the Chicago area again, I will definitely stay at the Ramada.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank scmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

I had actually went to the Chicago Forum because my trip centered around actually going to Chicago. The Ramada in Hammond was recommended and I am really glad I took this suggestion. It was a very nice, clean hotel and the staff was super friendly and accomodating. The detached restaurant, Johnel's had very good food and the portions were extremely large even the desserts. They even delivered to the room too. We had so much food left over that we brought some back to the hotel and a staff member overhead us saying that we had no where to keep the food. She immediately requested a refrig for our room and it was there in a jiffy! For the price this was a very nice hotel and the commute to Chicago was a snap on the South Shore train whose station was within a mile of the hotel. This hotel was very close to lots of familiars....KFC, bowling alley across the street, Speedway gas station, White Castle, Aurelio's Pizza, Arbys to name a few. But with Johnel's just a hop across the parking lot we didn't need to go to any of the fast food places. The restaurant prices were very reasonable too!

Helpful?
5 Thank ibefit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2005

Due to business in the area I have spent more than 300 nights here in the last five years. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean. Nice location near Chicago. Hotel provides a shuttle to nearby casino boats in the area. There is a very nice family restaurant also located on the property as well as a bowling alley across the street.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jlwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammond
3.8 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Best Western Northwest Indiana Inn
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 4141 Calumet Ave, 141st St & Calumet Avenue, Hammond, IN 46320-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Conference Center - Hammond Hotel Hammond
Ramada Inn And Conference Center - Hammond
Ramada Inn Hammond
Ramada Hammond
Hammond Ramada
Ramada Inn Hotel Hammond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing