We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, and I'm picky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hammond
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great stay, and I'm picky”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We're in town for a funeral. They gave us such a fair rate we were able to do 2 rooms rather than cramming into one. The room is great, the breakfast is really great. The beds are comfortable, the maid service is excellent. I really have no complaints. We had a problem with a noisy air conditioner, they fixed it immediately. The rooms are "older" but I get the sense that is normal for this town. We were very happy with our stay and appreciate them being there for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjcjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, General Manager at Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments during this time of your loss. Please accept our deepest condolences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    52
    66
    42
    21
See reviews for
58
55
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allensville, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The price was reasonable for the area and it was close to my daughter. So I chose it. First thing I found out when I got there was the pool has been closed down for a year. It is an older hotel and I do not mind older. I have stayed in older before and even some with minor mildew smell. But it has had some severe roof damage and mildew problems apparently. They placed us on the first floor and our room seemed decently clean. But the smell is atrocious. If you go upstairs (we did to go to the vending machine) it will knock you down. I thought "Hey... I can tough it out for one night". But had a difficult time sleeping because my friend who had traveled with me stayed in the other bed. Her breathing was very troubled and I worried for her all night. Feel so guilty now that I kept us in this hotel because now it appears that she caught mites from there. I guess my daughter & I were lucky that we slept in the other bed by the air conditioner. The people in the hotel were friendly and nice and due to my clean test (although I don't have a way to test for mites) the room appeared to have been cleaned very nicely. The room also looked very nice. I do not know what the strange smell in our room was. But the smells from upstairs was very strongly mold & mildew damage. Even with the nice fragrance they had spraying into the hall outside our room. I know that to fix this hotel would be so expensive but I hate to tell them they need to just go ahead and bulldoze it and start over. If you are looking for a cheaper place to stay and do not mind toughing it out a bit...you could carry some of the new spray for beds they are selling. There is also a decent restaurant right next door in the parking lot. Food was good, cheesecake was a slice of heaven, and the pina colados were great! I am giving it a higher cleanliness rating because I felt that the maids are doing the best they can at keeping the better rooms clean.

Room Tip: If you decide to go for the bargain ask for first floor only (no elevator and the smell upstairs is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Good or bad, we certainly appreciate all our customers comments & concerns. Renovations have been slowly started and will be getting on full swing this fall. When returning to the Hammond area please visit us again; and allow us the privilege of providing you with a hotel that the staff and management are proud of. Along with down home Hoosier Hospitality as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hammond hotels

San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Not a bad hotel but nothing great. It is a good place if you are going to be running into Chicago late to stay overnight at a decent price. It is 30 minutes outside of Chicago, depending on the time of day. The rooms were clean and the staff was courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Yes, the property is not new, but it is clean. Shiela could not have gone out of her way to make our stay more pleasant. The room was larger than expected, and while not everything is brand new, it is comfortable and functionable. Room had micro, refrigerator, decent TV, coffee in room. Room had one sitting chair, and perhaps could have used another one. The walls are a bit thin and you might hear some noise, even the trains in the distance, but it should not keep you awake unless it's a party going on and you were not invited. Breakfast was decent, nothing over the top, but decent and satisfying. One heads up, there are no elevators and there is a second story, so if stairs are an issue, request a first floor. Also, there is a complimentary shuttle to and from the Horseshoe Casino.

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the pool area so you do not have to look at the front parking lot. Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Falls
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've used this facility many times and have always been satisfied. It is conveniently located for our needs and service is good,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is beyond words...all i can say is gross. as we walked down the hallway to our room, we noticed huge holes in the ceiling with wires hanging. The floors were filthy.. went to our room and it was worse. supposed to be a non smoking hotel and the room smelled of marijuana. i figured i could just bear it instead of complaining to the rude desk clerk that checked us in. so as we are trying to relax after driving from ohio, i can hear noises in the hallway.so i open the door to see whats going on...a few staff members talking laughing and playing around. really?? after about 20 to 25 mins of this nonsense..i put my belonging in my car and left.i wasnt even going to waste any of my time to complain...i wouldnt stay or ever return to this hotel..i wouldnt reccomend anyone stay there...i lost $100+ in that dump and if i were you i would drive down the street and pay LESS money to stay in a much nicer place. I could go on for days about the condition of the room but its not even worth anymore of my time..this place should be condemed..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacke1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, General Manager at Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't have a good experiences on your stay. We are working on renovations. Please contact me so we can go into details on your stay. Thank you for taking the time to comment. The only why to improve is from comments from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammond
6.0 mi away
Best Western Northwest Indiana Inn
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hammond
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Southeast/Hammond, IN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago
4.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chicago Lansing
4.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 4141 Calumet Ave, 141st St & Calumet Avenue, Hammond, IN 46320-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Hammond Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Conference Center - Hammond
Ramada Inn & Conference Center - Hammond Hotel Hammond
Ramada Inn Hammond
Ramada Hammond
Hammond Ramada
Ramada Inn Hotel Hammond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing