We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Willie and Red's

Willie and Red's
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This sure isn't wellivers. The buffet made me wish i went to Golden Corral. I have gone several time for buffet and menu hoping it would get better but i have given up. It just isnt that good and srvice needs work. It is too bad since it is so close. I would rather drive to richmond for a good meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is not the Wellivers that most of grew up loving, but its still pretty good. The essence of the old menu was there, but not quite all the way. Nonetheless, the Smorgasbord was like an 8 to 8.5 on a 10 scale. Desserts were very good and the coffee was delicious as well. I think the price point for the buffet could be a little lower (it was $17.00 a plate); $13.00 would be more accurate for the quality. Again it was good.... but not great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor service, low quality food...call in Robert Irvine!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Dinner for 10 on a Saturday night took about 3 hours. We were seated immediately and the waitress took our drink orders, sadly that was the last we saw of her for a very long time. Drinks were finally delivered and food orders were placed. The salads were eventually brought out, and another round of drinks ordered. Meals came quickly after that, or at least parts of meals. The second round of drinks took forever, in fact most were halfway through their meals before the drinks arrived. Fortunely we had all ordered 2 drinks this time, knowing now that service was poor. The food on the buffet was mediocre and the desserts tasted like something out of a cardboard container. Items from the menu were nothing special. The French fries were cold, the mashed potatoes were instant and the breaded shrimp were straight out of a frozen bag from any grocery store. Complimentary dessert had been delivered to the table earlier along with our salads. The cinnamon bread was stale and the icing hardened like glue. The orange cake was simply one bite per plate. The restaurant was not exceptionally busy where one might have a drain on resources. We had to ask for our checks and when they were delivered we saw the waitress had taken time to figure and write on the ticket various tip amounts, for 15%, 18% and 20% and then added in large letters at the bottom that the tip was not included. One favorable mention to the complimentary cheese ball and crackers, that was by far, the best thing of the whole experience. I do not think we will be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New name: Willie & Red's”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband & I have been going to Welliver's since 1967. Always a treat. When it went out of business, we had to make new plans for Thanksgiving that year. It reopened under new management but fizzled out again. Finally, new owners took over & the restaurant became Willie & Red's. We were thrilled. Of course it isn't exactly like the old Welliver's, but it close enough for us. We would go there each month as a special treat. When it burned down, we were really sad. Once they reopened, we tried them again. It is wonderful--even better!! We were there earlier this month & the Christmas decorating was beautiful. The food was great--my husband loves their chicken livers & turnips. I love the salad bar & the desserts. The service is always great. We have heard wonderful things about the restaurant but love the smorgasboard so much, we just can't change.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Variety of foods is awesome and the taste was excellent!! The service is wonderful and it is a nice atmosphere... It recently burned down, very sad!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Darlinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willie and Red's also viewed

 

Been to Willie and Red's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing