We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interested in aviation, American History, early farm life, visit”

Wilbur Wright Birthplace and Museum
Attraction details
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Interested in aviation, American History, early farm life, visit”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We saw the road sign for Wilbur Wright Birthplace and Museum while traveling west. We decided to stop and check it out. We passed through about 4 miles of farmland following good signs on side of road before we arrived. Volunteers run the museum, we applaud them for their committment to this small tribute to the Wright Brothers and their contribution to our American life. A good movie, great displays, very interesting museum. Glad we took the time to see it. Young families would appreciate it, when we visited, the local group of remote control aircraft were there using the field in back of the museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“For a few bucks, well worth it!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff and volunteers were great. Parts of the museum were a little stale, but still a neat experience. They recreated a street circa from the turn of the century - very neat! You can also tour the birth home and barns.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting, but nothing original”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We made a stop by here while traveling through IN, and since it was along our way we stopped to check it out. While there are interesting facts about the Wright Brothers (as a Dayton, OH native I'm pretty well versed in them anyway). and neat things to see... be aware that nothing here is original. It's all replicated, and as for the house area, it's what they "think" it looked like. If you really want to see/learn about the Wright Brothers, drive another hour and a half east and check out Carrollon Park, the Wright House and the National Museum of the U.S. Air Force (which is free). Those will NOT disappoint!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank gsdull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you love to fly and like history - Wilbur Wright Birthplace and Museum”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A little off the beaten path but well worth the drive through the country! Very well organized with loads to see and learn about the pioneers of flight, their families and life back in the late 1800's and early 1900's. A great place for kids and adults - loads to see. Really well done exhibits and explanations - honestly one of the best "small town" museums I have ever been to (I am an avid musuem goes and ex Smithsonian employee. Great staff! If you have ever been to the Kill Devil Hills - Wright Brothers Memorial in NC - you need to go here! Can't say enough - totally well done!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JLGregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greatly surprised”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This site is located out in the country and was well worth the drive through the corn fields to get there. My wife and I thought we would be in and out in a few minutes and we spent over two hours there on a self guided tour. It is well maintained and full of very interesting history all for $3 a piece. If you are at all interested in the history of aviation, this is a DO NOT MISS visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilbur Wright Birthplace and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wilbur Wright Birthplace and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing