We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the fried pickles; the soft serve ice cream is good too”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mrs Curl

Mrs Curl
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Greenwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Loved the fried pickles; the soft serve ice cream is good too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Mrs Curl's is known for the ice cream and it's very good but not cheap. I enjoyed the soft serve vanilla and the razzles are good but the fried pickles are even better. I tried the cheese sticks and they are good too but the pickles are the best. There is a wait for the pickles but it's well worth it. I also ordered the hot dog although I was told to order another sandwich and next time, I will order the other sandwich since the hot dog was ok at best.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    12
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Love this place and always look forward to when it's open. This small stand has quite a large variety of ice cream and other items. Hands down the best ice cream at the absolute best prices! I hope they never change a thing!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average in Quality, Highly Favored by Locals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This is an old type Car Hop style Ice Cream Stand but without the Car Hops! You have to go up to place your order!
I took my teenage son there when he was visiting and we both had floats. They used regular machine soft serve cream in the float. Nothing special about it... but the atmosphere is old style and fun! We both walked around the creek next to it and ate our floats! And as the sun went down, the lights came on and lite up the place. And the line got longer....
So, even though he has never lived here, he now has a memory of this Old School Ice Cream Stand with his Dad! That makes it even more special!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“kids love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

the quality here isn't as good as most high end chains but it rivals Dairy Queen. It's the cool old school atmosphere that keeps this place ticking. the kids love to eat creekside and enjoy the outdoor company of other local kids. it's tough to pass this place in the summer without stopping in for a scoop or two!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiddalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We crave this all winter & are so happy when it opens! Very tasty ice cream & even if line is long, they get everyone through very quickly so don't let the long line scare you off! I do think they overdo it on toppings/flavors in the "Razzle"-I have to ask for "light" or "half" or it's just too much & I want to taste the best part, which is the ice cream, so I would recommend asking them to take it easy on the add-ins. Would love to see some updated decor & much needed remodeling. In addition to the ice cream they also have great burgers, hot dogs, & more, so highly recommend stopping in for lunch or dinner as well!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Curl also viewed

 

Been to Mrs Curl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing