We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Melting Pot - CLOSED

The Melting Pot
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: County Line Road
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

very long dinner option that offers plenty of time for conversation. Expect about $40 per person. It is something to experience once but we only go about once a year. Its intersting cooking your own food in a little different way. The food is outstanding! Excellent wine selection as well.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiddalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Melting Pot is a great restaurant, but it's so expensive that we've only been there once.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lilybramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I love The Melting Pot! Such a fun, relaxing experience. The Fiesta Cheese is my absolute favorite! My favorite cooking style is Bourguighonne (or oil); I highly recommend this. You can not go wrong with any chocolate selection. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank nlocke09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
214 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Relaxing, enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

This is the kind of restaurant you eat at when you want a leisurely dinner. We were there a couple hours. The lights are dimmed so may not look like it's open from the outside. It is an all fondue restaurant. We started out with the cheese fondue (they have a variety of flavors to choose from) which is served with pieces of apple and variety of bread pieces. I had the seafood combo for my entree & my husband had seafood/duck combo --- we both enjoyed them. You cook it in the pot for a couple minutes a couple pieces at a time. Also veggies come with it that you cook. We chose to add a lobster tail to each of our meals. We had a coupon for a free chocolate fondue but we chose to take that home. The servers are very attentive, keep the heat on the fondue pot at the correct tempature and answering any questions. This was our first time and was a very pleasant experience. Plus they kept my ice tea glass full at all times bringing more when needed. The entree does come with your choice of salad. If you just have an entree with salad - the cost would be like eating anywhere else. To add lobster was $18 each and the cheese about $16 for the pot. So you can have a normal price meal or an expensive meal just depending on what you want to add. We will be going back, but not the type of restaurant I'd want to eat at every week.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cookieladyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food - really expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Went here for my birthday with about six people spent around $200. Best part is the chocolate fondue at the end. Other fondues have a lot of variety.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanblue535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing