We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We actually left and went to another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Greenfield
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“We actually left and went to another hotel”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

What can I say? I thought this was truly a Country Inn & Suites and reserved a king sized suite so that my daughter could have her own "room". We've stayed at plenty of County Inn & Suites over the years. We had 4 nights reserved as we were visiting family for the holidays. The entry was was ok - then I was informed that there was no elevator and our room was on the 2nd floor. We lugged everything upstairs, but when we got in the room, I knew that there was no way we could stay there. Sub par, if anything. I found out later from our relatives in Greenfield, that this was a former Holiday Inn express and had changed names many times. There was no king studio suite. The furnishings were awful, ugly. The TV was OLD, an old little refrigerator and an old microwave was pushed up against the wall. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been updated since the 50's. The pull out sofa that my daughter would have to sleep on, revealed a 3" crunchy plastic mattress and you could feel every spring below. I couldn't get out of there fast enough. i had booked thru a travel site and luckily was able to use the money paid towards a different hotel we switched too without penalty. I have never left a hotel before.. but this was just a horrible room. And the poor young girl at the front desk didn't seem experienced enough to help us. At first we asked if we could switch to 2 single rooms and she could not assist. IN any case, we left and stayed 4 nites at another near by hotel. All I can say is UGH, UGH, and UGH.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    66
    27
    15
    14
See reviews for
95
45
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

In town for one night from ga :) snow everywhere ..check in was fast and easy front desk was helpful on what to do in the city ..found a casino 20 miles away:) hotel was nicely decorated for the holidays room was clean and spacious free cookies, hot coca and coffee everywhere will stay again when in town :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdbn3017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review, our guest are our priority, we look forward to having you as guest again while your are in town. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While on a cross country trip we stayed at several Country Inns over a course of two weeks. This was the worst by far. While the beds were comfortable and bedding clean and crisp, the rooms and property need some vast remodeling and updating. This Inn was just not as clean and fresh looking as any other we stayed at. The desk clerk was very friendly and very accommodating trying to handle another guests complaint about his AC unit when we were checking in. Apologizing to him that the AC in his room would not work because the thermostat was outside. Really!!! The breakfast area was adequate and food was presented nicely. This property does not live up to the quality that we have come to expect of a Country Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebud58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine but not as nice as other country inn and suites. A couple of the common doors and carpets were in disrepair. The indoor pool is very small and there is no elevator to the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiking102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you for the mentioning the good service from the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We had two rooms. Room was very nice and spacious. Value was extremely good. I was in town unexpectedly for a funeral and the staff were very kind, courteous and accommodating. I asked for different pillows and the front desk lady was at my room within minutes. Breakfast was good as well. Cookies at night when you walked in the front door.
If I’m ever in Greenfield IN again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay if you are ever in Greenfield IN again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel - it was ok- clean and the front desk was friendly, Nothing too outstanding and met my needs. The breakfast has been going down hill- used to be eggs and a meat and also sausage gravy and biscuits and now it is like only 1 - of course there is cereal and juice but it is nice to have a hot breakfast. Holiday Day Inn Express is much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night, on our way thru to Baltimore. This one reminded me why I choose Country Inn & Suites!!!! :o) I take medication each night, with which needs to be taken with milk. Not really wanting to get out (it was late), I called the front desk to see if they had any milk that I could purchase (I told her that I needed it so I could take medication). The gal advised me that they did not have a "store", but that she could get some milk from the breakfast bar & bring it to me. She advised me that his generally was a "no-no", but was more than happy to help. She arrived at our door moments later, with a glass of cold milk in hand!! We offered her a small tip, to which she politely declined with a smile & said "have a good evening". Thanks Country Inn & Suites, for amazing, positive customer service!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATHLEEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your hotel stay with our hotel. We look forward to your next stay. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenfield
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Greenfield
Super 8 Greenfield
#1 of 7 in Greenfield
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Greenfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 7 in Greenfield
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenfield
Hampton Inn Greenfield
#4 of 7 in Greenfield
319 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-Post Drive
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-...
#119 of 180 in Indianapolis
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield
Address: 2070 N State St, Greenfield, IN 46140-9079 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express - Greenfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Greenfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Greenfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated addition to the Country Inn & Suites hotel family in central Indiana. We feature hot complimentary breakfast daily, endless Highridge Country coffee, freshly baked cookies, free USA Today paper, and free WIFI throughout the hotel. Each room features free local calls, refrigerator, microwave, new one cup coffeemakers, hairdryer, iron, iron board. Hotel also features heated indoor pool. We are conveniently located 15 minutes east of Indianapolis. This hotel has two floors and no elevator. No hot tub in pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Greenfield Hotel Greenfield
Country Inn And Suites Greenfield
Holiday Inn Greenfield
Greenfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing