We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the complementary breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Greenfield
Springfield, Il
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Skip the complementary breakfast”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The motel was great until we went down to breakfast. My wife's milk was sour and the cereal tasted like cardboard. When she asked for more fresh fruit, the attendant said she was thawing more out. The eggs swam in grease and looked like they also were thawed out. My waffle was cooked to well done. Otherwise the stay was great. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and attentive. I would stay again and eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BmacSpringfield_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for stay with us, I do apologize for the breakfast. Next time you are in the area we hope to make it better for you. Thank you for your feedback it is always important to us to hear what our guests views are. Thank you, Vicki General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    67
    30
    15
    16
See reviews for
101
46
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My family lives in Greenfield, Indiana--located approx 15 miles east of Indianapolis. As a location destination, it is NOT, but we don't get to choose where our family lives. My husband and I travelled for Thanksgiving with our three girls--ages 4, 5 +6 and stayed 5 days. The Country Inn provided a wonderful refuge from the dreary, rainy, cold weather. They provided us with ADJOINING rooms! What a relief!! The girls' room had two queen beds and our room had one king. The rooms were clean, the service was on time every day, the breakfast each morning was tasty and for traveling with children, we have no complaints or concerns. Also, they have an INDOOR pool! You have no idea how much it adds to quality of life when the girls have an outlet for their energy--all three are good swimmers due to our pool at home in Phoenix. So, if it wasn't for Country Inn, we would be describing our 5 days in hell that is Indiana in November; instead, because of Country Inn, we actually had a pretty good time and found opportunity to enjoy ourselves. THANK YOU COUNTRY INN!!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with more than two children, we recommend asking for their adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZScubaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. Your family were such a pleasure and those girls are adorable. Any time you are in this area to visit family or any other reason, let us take care of your hotel needs. Thank you, Vicki General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

On the way home from our road trip, too tired to keep driving, looked up some reviews on trip advisor of the hotels on the exit sign and decided on the Country Inn and Suites. They had a free hot breakfast buffet which is always a plus to me! Most of the hotels at this exit had pretty good reviews. I chose this for the breakfast :)

When we went into the lobby, I was really impressed. It was really pretty. There was a fireplace with a library where you could borrow books. The front desk area is small but very nice as well. There were many warm cookies for the taking--yum! I wish I could remember the nice girl who checked us in ( Saturday-August 20th) but after 11 hours driving, my mind was not all there. She was so bubbly and sweet. Very helpful and this hotel has one great employee!

We asked for a room on the first floor and got it. The room was comfy and clean and smelled really good too. The bed was so comfortable, we slept great. I did call the Hampton Inn and they were $30 more for that night which was another reason for our choice. This place is as nice as any Hampton we've stayed in and I was very happy with our choice. Unfortunately, we did not use any of the amenities, including the breakfast because it didn't start until 7 am and we were out of there by 6:30. I would definately recommend to anyone. There are plenty of dining choices right on the same street too.

Room Tip: First Floor! It is only 2 stories but no elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisa816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for all your good comments about our hotel and the employees. Your feedback is very important to us. Please always stop in again if you are traveling in this area. It is very important to us to give and to you as a traveler to get great service. Thank you , Vicki Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I never had the chance to experience this place when it was a Holiday Inn, but I have to say that I was impressed with this Country Inn. The building and grounds look well maintained on the outside. I enter to find a small but quaint lobby area with seating near a fireplace adorned by a mini library.
My check-in was fast and the clerk was very friendly, she offered me home baked cookies they have at the desk and samples of grooming products. Off to my room which was on the second floor, there was no elevator to my knowledge. I enter my room to find it nice and cool, the room smelled fresh and clean as well.
I start my inspection in the bathroom to find it clean (even the nooks and crannies) and there was quality brand name soaps and shampoos to boot. One thing I noticed was that the fixtures looked dated, but clean none the less. There's also a lighted magnified mirror and hair dryer and a towel in the shape of a bowtie which I thought was a nice touch.
In the main part of the room is a mini fridge with microwave and coffee maker (cuisinart) a desk, armchair and two nightstands that flank a nice King bed.
The bed itself (pillowtop King) was very comfy with clean and fresh smelling linens with five pillows. In one of the drawers of the TV cabinet was a hypo allergenic blanket and pillow. The TV is an old model 27" tube style, to which I hope one day all hotels will switch to flatpannels. The overall room is nice, the carpets are new and the walls nicely painted, the decor and furnishing seem modern.
The pool area was really nice and appeared clean and maintained, there's plenty of lounge chairs as well as towels. In the fitness room you'll find a pair of treadmills, an elliptical and resistance machine. In the business room are several computers for networking.
The dinning area is spacious with plenty of seating and offers a fireplace and flatscreen TV. There's a deluxe hot breakfast, although I'd say it's your average staples. Eggs, sausage, seasoned potatoes. Cereals, fruits, muffins, bagels and servOmatic waffles. plenty of coffee, teas, juices and milk.
Checking-out was not as fast as checking in though as the clerk was outside smoking (on break I guess) but no biggie. All in all I had a great stay and will deff stay there again!
One last note, this hotel is not pet friendly!! They'll hit you with a $100 fine if caught.

Room Tip: Do a search for offers (codes) before you book,you can save big money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. It is our pleasure to make sure our guest are treated like home away from home. Thank you, Vicki General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Super disappointed about the pool being out of service our entire stay. We chose this hotel based on it's having a pool for the preschooler. We would have changed if we had known but there was no mention on their website. Hotel is clean and well-kept. Lobby is very nice with fresh cookies and coffee round-the-clock and a little gift basket with things like Craisins or lotion you grab coming in or out. The room was nice, good space, room-darkening drapes and comfortable bed. Made for good sleep. The only drawback was the BLAST of cold air when we walked in the first time. The a/c was set on high (in an empty room!) and the temp was 60 degrees. Wasteful, and so uncomfortable we had to turn it off and wait in the lobby for it to drop to an acceptable temperature. (The windows don't open.) I requested a ground floor room, but they didn't have any on our arrival. Had to drag suitcases through the lobby and up a flight of stairs...no elevator. The staff was nice, but had no clue about directions or places to eat (found out one we asked about was across the street). The included breakfast was quite good, hot and cold foods and served later than usual which was much appreciated by late risers! The ladies taking care of the food were super-nice, too. Business facilities were one computer with lo-speed internet (same for wifi) but at least it's free. I'd stay there again. Good value, safe and clean, near the interstate but easy access to town and walking distance to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: ? Putting a request on my internet reservation did no good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayflye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki2458, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments, feedback is always good from our guests veiw point. I am sorry that the pool was under renovations during your stay. If ever in this area again come back and enjoy the pool and other amenities that we have for you. Thank you, Vicki General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is a very safe area and hotel is very clean and very friendly. It is 2 story with no elevator so we statyed on first floor. Shower was great with lots of towels and bathroom extremely clean. Room was clean and good size with micro and frig. The tv was old and outdated and not very clear to watch. Breakfast was good and service was very good and area clean but small. There are at least 6 places to eat very close by like Cracker Barrel, Applebees, and a new steackhouse and more. The hotel was full and even with lots of little pee-wee ball players around our room was quiet. Our king bed was great and we sleeped like babys and with hot weather our air worked great. We did not use the indoor pool which looks 5 feet at deep end but kids looked like they were having a great time, This is not a resort but if you are looking for a clean good place to clean up and get a good nights sleep this is it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Very clean and nice, quite convenient. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggbert_tg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenfield
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Greenfield
Super 8 Greenfield
#1 of 7 in Greenfield
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 7 in Greenfield
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Greenfield
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenfield
Hampton Inn Greenfield
#4 of 7 in Greenfield
324 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-Post Drive
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-...
#118 of 182 in Indianapolis
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield
Address: 2070 N State St, Greenfield, IN 46140-9079 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express - Greenfield)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Greenfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Greenfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated addition to the Country Inn & Suites hotel family in central Indiana. We feature hot complimentary breakfast daily, endless Highridge Country coffee, freshly baked cookies, free USA Today paper, and free WIFI throughout the hotel. Each room features free local calls, refrigerator, microwave, new one cup coffeemakers, hairdryer, iron, iron board. Hotel also features heated indoor pool. We are conveniently located 15 minutes east of Indianapolis. This hotel has two floors and no elevator. No hot tub in pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Greenfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Greenfield Hotel Greenfield
Country Inn And Suites Greenfield
Holiday Inn Greenfield
Greenfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing