We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ole Hometown Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Putnam Inn

Putnam Inn
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Greencastle
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Putnam Inn- famous for its Broasted Chicken served up fresh since 1972! For three decades, people have enjoyed home-style meals at this family-owned and operated Greencastle eatery with friends and family.
Greencastle, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good Ole Hometown Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Putnam Inn always has good home cookin' type meals as well as great daily specials. The breakfast buffet on the weekends is always a good choice. The Blue Plate Specials are always creative, and Rhonda tries to mix things up with Greek, Mexican, and Caribbean influences.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBCyclery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Home Cookin' Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Go here for the buffet. Lots of good comfort food. Love the fried chicken, mashed potatoes, and the pies.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank love2travelGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute,IN
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large local restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Has a large menu and a buffet. Food was average but plentiful. Price is reasonable. Could be a little cleaner . Service was okay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Again, a so-so Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was invited here through my company for a luncheon. The menu variety on the buffet is superb however its the lack of attention to detail that derails me every time I am here. This time, I found rotten lettuce in the salad, and was done after two bites. Also, my cup in the banquet room was filthy. I'm sorry, but little things like this are just plain unacceptable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good, homestyle place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ok, so Putnam Inn could probably use a make-over on the decor, but we still enjoy it. The place is friendly, service is great, and the food is good. I am sure there are some items on the menu and buffet that aren't "made from scratch," but all in all, the food is good. Kudos to the owner (Rhonda), who appears to be the fastest and hardest working woman in town. She has the best attitude towards her business, employees, and customers that I have ever seen.
For the money, you can't beat this place. Come casual and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkaymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Putnam Inn also viewed

 

Been to Putnam Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing