We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and right on campus” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The INN at DePauw & Event Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greencastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The INN at DePauw & Event Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greencastle
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
619 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Nice and right on campus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The place to stay when you are visiting DePauw. The rooms are very nicely accommodated, the staff is helpful, and it couldn't be anymore convenient. There are a few dining options and the a bar within the premises. If you can ask for a room on one of the upper floors I would prefer it to the ground floor right on the parking lot. They have made place even nicer and cozier over the years, and I always look forwards to my stays there.

Room Tip: rooms on the north side and on the upper floors is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mja1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you have chosen to stay with us over the years and hope that you always choose the Inn when traveling to Greencastle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    23
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
11
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Mary is always very helpful and friendly. We stay at the Inn quite often and Mary is always happy to great myself and our team. Of all of the personnel at the Inn, Mary is always one of the most helpful persons.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to remind us that we do have a true gem working for us. Mary is truly an asset to our team and I am happy that she takes care of all of our guests equally!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed off and on at the Inn at DePauw for over a year for business and the hotel has consistently met or exceeded my expectations each time. Mary Tesmer at the front desk, is one of the nicest ladies I've ever met. Each Monday she welcomes my team fin with a smile and is very professional and knowledgeable when checking me in. Once in my haste, I forgot to make a reservation and she was able to get me room on the spot - what a relief! She makes the Inn at DePauw feel like my home away from home and even cheers for my favorite football team, THE Carolina Panthers. When travelling to Greencastle do not hesitate to book your stay here, I highly recommend.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to have a room that is non-conjoining as those rooms tend to be a little bit louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. I am glad that you continue to stay with us at the Inn. Mary is a true gem and we are lucky to have her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently visited Greencastle Indiana for a wedding. Because of a long drive we decided to stay at the Inn at DePauw, which is located right on DePauw University Campus. The accommodations were impeccable. I was a little hesitant thinking it may be too much of a college crowd. My hesitations were quickly resolved. The entire stay was excellent. We were allowed a late checkout, which was tricky for the staff as there were two wedding parties staying at the hotel along with out of town guests due to graduation. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and all of our special needs. The onsite restaurant was priced well and the food was wonderful! I will stay here again if the opportunity presents itself, and I will look forward to it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Inn. We are very pleased that you enjoyed everything while you were here. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff as they all work hard every day to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guests. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Not a B&B in a traditional sense as breakfast is not included with your stay. This is a hotel, owned by DePauw University, and is structured and operates as such. It was built in the early 1980s. It sits on the edge of campus and is quite convenient for visits to the university. In our case, our niece was visiting DePauw as a potential student and we stayed there the night before to get an early start the next morning. Our stay was the night of St. Patricks Day, yet the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood remained quiet. Rooms vary in size. We had reserved two, both with two double beds. Ours was the smaller of the two. Small bathroom and a mattress of average comfort. The room was clean and value reasonable. Our niece and her mother stayed in the larger room. On the corner of the building, it offered three windows overlooking the neighborhood and back parking lot. Again, clean and comfortable but with a small TV that looked as if it might better serve as a computer monitor. The one small drawback that I noticed was that their room was accessed by a hallway that had a very stale, musty, almost acrid odor, though I seemed to be the only one who noticed the smell. We'll certainly be back to the Inn with future visits to DePauw and Greencastle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnslwNeuQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am not sure why we are listed as a B&B, but will check with Trip Advisor to see if that can be changed as it is misleading. During your stay with us television updates had just begun and I am happy to say that on your next visit you will be enjoying a brand new beautiful 42" flat screen TV. Again, thank you and we hope to see you many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Oh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Inn at Depauw is a very clean, safe and convenient hotel pretty much on the college campus. The front desk staff is always super friendly and helpful in answering any questions one might have about the campus, Greencastle, where to eat dinner, etc. The rooms are clean, beds are cozy and the sheets are nice and soft. Its not a fancy hotel but its very convenient to everything on campus and probably the best hotel in Greencastle. Some of the bathrooms are oddly shaped and not very roomy but if you are staying alone of with one other person its not a huge problem. I would suggest that they put charging stations or outlets right on the desk to make it convenient to power up all your electronics.

Room Tip: Rooms not near The Duck are quieter late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhSugarrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive in hopes that we may exceed your expectations in the future! We are currently looking into finding a solution for an outlet near the nightstands and hope to have that accomplished in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our son and fiancée recently had their wedding reception at the Inn at DePauw. The Inn is a wonderful place to hold a reception. It has the service and professionalism that one would expect of a larger hotel in a large city, but with the personal touch that one would expect in a small town inn. We had close to 200 guests and there was ample room for hors d’oevers before the dinner in the galleria. The ballroom (known as the social center) had 19 tables with room for a dance floor, dj, and cake area. The food was delicious. We had a wide variety of menus to choose from. Lauren Smoot did a wonderful job of orchestrating everything. She had many great ideas and also was a very good resource for local services such dj’s, cake makers, etc. During the entire process, Lauren met our needs and anticipated many things that we had not thought about. She even gave us her personal cell phone number so that we could reach her when she was on vacation if anything came up while planning for the reception.
The vast majority of our guests were from out of town, from all over the country from California to New York, to Florida, to Washington state. They were very impressed with the personal touch and friendly service that they received from the Inn’s staff. Because the entire Inn was booked for the wedding, we really had the run of the place. The staff was particularly attentive to anything we needed. We felt that they truly enjoyed hosting our event.
Hotel rooms are clean and spacious. Meals in the restaurant are excellent as are sandwiches in the bar.
The Inn is right on the campus of DePauw University as well as within walking distance to the town square, which has a number of shops, restaurants, as well as Starbucks.
I highly recommend the Inn, whether it be for a family reunion/get together; wedding reception; professional conference or as just a weekend get away. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your event and stay at the Inn. We are very pleased that your friends and family enjoyed everything while they were here. Lauren is definitely an asset to our team and I am so happy that everything turned out so wonderful for you! I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff as they all work hard every day to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guests. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greencastle
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Cloverdale
Super 8 Cloverdale
#1 of 6 in Cloverdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Cloverdale Greencastle
8.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cloverdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Covered Bridge Inn
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cloverdale
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Greencastle Inn
#2 of 3 in Greencastle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN at DePauw & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN at DePauw & Event Center

Property: The INN at DePauw & Event Center
Address: 2 West Seminary Street, Greencastle, IN 46135-1640
Location: United States > Indiana > Greencastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greencastle
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
The Inn At Depauw And Event Center
The Inn At Depauw & Event Hotel Greencastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing