We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt like the Bride!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greencastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The INN at DePauw & Event Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greencastle
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently visited Greencastle Indiana for a wedding. Because of a long drive we decided to stay at the Inn at DePauw, which is located right on DePauw University Campus. The accommodations were impeccable. I was a little hesitant thinking it may be too much of a college crowd. My hesitations were quickly resolved. The entire stay was excellent. We were allowed a late checkout, which was tricky for the staff as there were two wedding parties staying at the hotel along with out of town guests due to graduation. The staff was extremely helpful with directions and all of our special needs. The onsite restaurant was priced well and the food was wonderful! I will stay here again if the opportunity presents itself, and I will look forward to it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Inn. We are very pleased that you enjoyed everything while you were here. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff as they all work hard every day to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guests. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for The INN at DePauw & Event Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 90 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Not a B&B in a traditional sense as breakfast is not included with your stay. This is a hotel, owned by DePauw University, and is structured and operates as such. It was built in the early 1980s. It sits on the edge of campus and is quite convenient for visits to the university. In our case, our niece was visiting DePauw as a potential student and we stayed there the night before to get an early start the next morning. Our stay was the night of St. Patricks Day, yet the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood remained quiet. Rooms vary in size. We had reserved two, both with two double beds. Ours was the smaller of the two. Small bathroom and a mattress of average comfort. The room was clean and value reasonable. Our niece and her mother stayed in the larger room. On the corner of the building, it offered three windows overlooking the neighborhood and back parking lot. Again, clean and comfortable but with a small TV that looked as if it might better serve as a computer monitor. The one small drawback that I noticed was that their room was accessed by a hallway that had a very stale, musty, almost acrid odor, though I seemed to be the only one who noticed the smell. We'll certainly be back to the Inn with future visits to DePauw and Greencastle.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnslwNeuQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am not sure why we are listed as a B&B, but will check with Trip Advisor to see if that can be changed as it is misleading. During your stay with us television updates had just begun and I am happy to say that on your next visit you will be enjoying a brand new beautiful 42" flat screen TV. Again, thank you and we hope to see you many times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Inn at Depauw is a very clean, safe and convenient hotel pretty much on the college campus. The front desk staff is always super friendly and helpful in answering any questions one might have about the campus, Greencastle, where to eat dinner, etc. The rooms are clean, beds are cozy and the sheets are nice and soft. Its not a fancy hotel but its very convenient to everything on campus and probably the best hotel in Greencastle. Some of the bathrooms are oddly shaped and not very roomy but if you are staying alone of with one other person its not a huge problem. I would suggest that they put charging stations or outlets right on the desk to make it convenient to power up all your electronics.

Room Tip: Rooms not near The Duck are quieter late at night.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhSugarrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive in hopes that we may exceed your expectations in the future! We are currently looking into finding a solution for an outlet near the nightstands and hope to have that accomplished in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our son and fiancée recently had their wedding reception at the Inn at DePauw. The Inn is a wonderful place to hold a reception. It has the service and professionalism that one would expect of a larger hotel in a large city, but with the personal touch that one would expect in a small town inn. We had close to 200 guests and there was ample room for hors d’oevers before the dinner in the galleria. The ballroom (known as the social center) had 19 tables with room for a dance floor, dj, and cake area. The food was delicious. We had a wide variety of menus to choose from. Lauren Smoot did a wonderful job of orchestrating everything. She had many great ideas and also was a very good resource for local services such dj’s, cake makers, etc. During the entire process, Lauren met our needs and anticipated many things that we had not thought about. She even gave us her personal cell phone number so that we could reach her when she was on vacation if anything came up while planning for the reception.
The vast majority of our guests were from out of town, from all over the country from California to New York, to Florida, to Washington state. They were very impressed with the personal touch and friendly service that they received from the Inn’s staff. Because the entire Inn was booked for the wedding, we really had the run of the place. The staff was particularly attentive to anything we needed. We felt that they truly enjoyed hosting our event.
Hotel rooms are clean and spacious. Meals in the restaurant are excellent as are sandwiches in the bar.
The Inn is right on the campus of DePauw University as well as within walking distance to the town square, which has a number of shops, restaurants, as well as Starbucks.
I highly recommend the Inn, whether it be for a family reunion/get together; wedding reception; professional conference or as just a weekend get away. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your event and stay at the Inn. We are very pleased that your friends and family enjoyed everything while they were here. Lauren is definitely an asset to our team and I am so happy that everything turned out so wonderful for you! I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff as they all work hard every day to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guests. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our daughter and her fiance made a great choice when they chose this venue for their December wedding reception. My husband and I live in Illinois and our daughter lives in Iowa, so a wedding in Greencastle, Indiana called for detailed planning. Lauren Smoot, the Inn event coordinator, made sure that everything went smoothly. From the minute that we arrived at the Inn, the friendly staff helped us with every detail to make sure that our stay was perfect!
Many of our friends told us that this was the nicest wedding that they had ever attended. The food was excellent, the atmosphere was magical, and everything was perfect for the happy couple. The large rooms were comfortable, and the lobby with its fireplace made you feel as if you were in an Inn from a quieter time. The restaurant served us an excellent breakfast, and there was a Starbucks within walking distance of the Inn. After hours, the Duck was a great place to gather and unwind with family and friends without going out in the cold. The Indianapolis airport is an easy, short drive for those flying into the area. The Inn at DePauw was everything that we were promised it would be, and we will definitely be returning in the future for a weekend get away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your event and stay at the Inn. We are very pleased that your friends and family enjoyed everything while they were here. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff as they all work hard everyday to provide oustanding customer service to all of our guests. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The rooms are comfortable, clean and adequate. The adjoining restaurant prepares a lovely brunch, made-to-order omelettes, melt-in-your mouth biscuits, fresh fruit, etc. The exceptional quality in this motel, however, is in the service provided by everyone - beginning with Mary at the front desk, (you'll recognize her immediately - she always has a smile for everyone!), and continuing with all the staff we have come into contact with during our stay. It didn't hurt at all that the lobby was decorated to the hilt for Christmas, complete with a child-size gingerbread house made with real sugar and candies! Hot coffee and cookies (or other tempting treats) are always available in the lobby. There is also a second restaurant within the buidling that features local musical talent and a nice atmosphere. We plan to stay here whenever we visit Greencastle!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele F, General Manager at The INN at DePauw & Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We work very hard trying to make everyone feel as if this IS their home away from home. We are glad that you enjoyed the Christmas decorations and the gingerbread house (definetly a labor of love) and also our restaurants. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in suite 302. Lovely! A fireplace, what a fabulous treat and a lite up Christmas tree to boot. Can't thank you enough for having a shower head for a very tall hubby. He is over 6'6" and usually can't enjoy a nice shower.
Our welcome was wonderful and even a movie DVD list for movie watching. awesome!
Dinner at the Duck w/ our daughter and best friend. Nice! Busy, each. For those looking for a great place to eat ourside of the Inn, I recommend Almost Home. Food is wonderful.

for those guests around room 302, please accept my apology for a husband who snores. I hope he didn't disturb the neighbors. lol.
We will be back the end of the month for another swim meet. thank you!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greencastle
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Cloverdale
Super 8 Cloverdale
#1 of 6 in Cloverdale
429 reviews
8.4 mi away
Days Inn Cloverdale Greencastle
19.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Covered Bridge Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Rockville
Econo Lodge Rockville
#3 of 4 in Rockville
68 reviews
8.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cloverdale
41 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Greencastle Inn
#2 of 3 in Greencastle
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN at DePauw & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN at DePauw & Event Center

Address: 2 West Seminary Street, Greencastle, IN 46135-1640
Location: United States > Indiana > Greencastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greencastle
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
The Inn At Depauw And Event Center
The Inn At Depauw & Event Hotel Greencastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing